Jaipur: The Congress on Thursday late night released the first list of 152 candidates for the upcoming Rajasthan Assembly Election 2018, that is scheduled for December 7. While, Sachin Pilot – the Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee president – will contest the polls from Tonk, former chief minister Ashok Gehlot has been nominated from his home turf, Sardarpura constituency.

Meanwhile, senior party leaders CP Joshi and Giriraj Vyas will contest from Nathdwara and Udaipur, respectively. Also, ex-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and former top cop of Rajasthan Harish Meena, who recently joined the Congress, has also managed to register his name in the candidates’ list and will contest from the Deoli-Uniara constituency.

Earlier on November 14, Gehlot and Pilot, while putting all speculations that claimed of an infighting among the top state leaders, had declared that they both will contest the upcoming Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018. Both asserted that the party will unitedly take on the BJP.

For the unversed, Pilot had last contested the Lok Sabha election from Ajmer in 2014, which he lost. He, however, did not contest the bye-election earlier this year.

The BJP has released names of 162 candidates for the December 7 Assembly Election 2018 in the state. On Wednesday, the party had released the second list of 31 candidates for the polls while naming Sangsingh Bhati from Jaisalmer, and Pratap Puri from Pokhran.

Among the ministers who have been denied tickets by the BJP this election are – outgoing ministers Babulal Verma, Rajkumar Rinwa and Dhan Singh Rawat. BJP MLA Gyandev Ahuja, who hit the national headlines at the height of the JNU controversy in 2016 for his remarks that thousands of condoms were found on the university campus daily, was also dropped. He represents Ramgarh in Alwar district in the current assembly.

The BJP had released the first list of candidates with 131 names on November 11 after the Central Election Committee of the party met under the presidentship of BJP national president Amit Shah.

The voting for 200-seat Rajasthan Assembly will be held on December 7. The counting of votes is scheduled for December 11. The results will be announced on the same day.

In 2013, the BJP under Vasundhara Raje had won a whopping 163 of the 200 assembly seats in the state.

The Election Commissioner of India (ECI) OP Rawat had on October 6 announced the Assembly Election 2018 schedule for five states – Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram.