New Delhi: Counting of votes got underway in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Telangana and early trends began to emerge around 8.30 AM. (Find LIVE Updates of Assembly Election Results Here)Also Read - Yearender 2018: From Losing Grip Over Hindi Heartland to Vajpayee's Demise, How 2018 Turned Nightmarish For BJP

In Rajasthan, early trends are out on 40 of the 199 seats. The BJP is leading on 14 seats and the Congress is leading on 31. Both the incumbent CM, Vasundhara Raje, and Congress heavyweight Sachin Pilot are leading on their seats. Also Read - Assembly Elections 2018: BJP Steps up Prep, Amit Shah Reworks 'Ajey BJP' Campaign

Vasundhara Raje has been the chief minister of the state for the full term of 5 years. She was also the chief minister from 2003 to 2008. In 2008, the BJP lost the elections and Congress party made its veteran leader Ashok Gehlot the chief minister of Rajasthan. In 2013, the BJP returned with a massive mandate and Vasundhara Raje again took the leadership of the state. While the Congress is pinning its hope on massive anti-incumbency factor against the BJP government in Rajasthan, the BJP can’t afford to lose the state that elects 25 Lok Sabha members. Currently, the BJP has 23 Lok Sabha seats and the Congress just 2. Also Read - Assembly Elections 2018: Congress Chief Ministers to Discuss Cabinet With Party Chief Rahul Gandhi

Six months before the Lok Sabha General Elections, the Rajasthan Assembly polls outcome is bound to impact both the parties’ plank for the Lok Sabha. If Congress wins, it will lift its spirit, it would be a comeback for that party that has been on the losing streak just before the Lok Sabha polls. In the recently held Karnataka Assembly polls, the Congress had to play the second fiddle just to keep the BJP out of power in the state. It accepted Janata Dal (Secular)’s HD Kumaraswamy as the chief minister in the coalition that was formed after the result despite having more seats than the JD(S). In Rajasthan, a win for the Congress would give it some gunpowder to take on the mighty BJP in other upcoming elections.