Jaipur: Assembly election in Rajasthan is around the corner and campaigning is on in full swing. The Congress has retained the Barmer seat since 2008 when its Mewaram Jain won. He repeated his success in 2013 as well, making it a prestige issue to retain this seat. (Also read: Cong Fields 15 Muslim Candidates, BJP Has Just One)

In 2008, he won with a massive 63,955 vote haul. In 2013, his votes dipped only marginally and he fetched 62,219 votes, reported Zeenews. There are 2,23,808 voters. Of this, there are 1,19,281 men and 1,04,527 women voters.

Elections would be held on December 7 in a single phase. Counting of votes would be held on December 11. The model code of conduct has been enforced in the state on October 6 ever since the Election Commission announced the dates.

In this poll-bound state, Vasundhara Raje is the first woman Chief Minister. Before her, Congress’ Ashok Gehlot led the state.

A couple of days ago, a BJP legislator and a Congress leader on Saturday resigned from their respective parties after they were denied tickets.  Tarun Rai Kaga, the BJP MLA from Chohtan seat in Barmer, forwarded his resignation to the party’s state president Madan Lal Saini and announced his decision to quit politics.

The party dropped Kaga from the constituency and gave the ticket to its former district president Aduram Meghwal.

In Jaipur, former Congress MLA Babulal Nagar, who was the food and civil supplies minister in the Ashok Gehlot government, resigned from the party, alleging a conspiracy against him to deny a ticket.

“I have worked hard for the party, but a conspiracy was hatched against me and I was not given a ticket from Dudu seat. I will go among the public and seek their opinion on Monday. I will contest as an Independent candidate if the people of my constituency demand this,” he said.

Nagar was jailed in October 2013 in a rape case, but he was acquitted by a lower court last year, following which the complainant had filed an appeal against the decision in the high court.