Jaipur: Former Mayor of Jaipur Jyoti Khandelwal resigned from the Congress party on Friday. She was reportedly disappointed over being denied a ticket for upcoming Rajasthan Assembly Election 2018.

Earlier on Thursday, the Congress had released the first list of 152 candidates for the upcoming Rajasthan Assembly Election 2018. The party named Sachin Pilot – the Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee president – as a candidate from Tonk and nominated former chief minister Ashok Gehlot from his home turf, Sardarpura constituency.

On the other hand, senior party leaders CP Joshi and Giriraj Vyas will contest from Nathdwara and Udaipur, respectively. Also, ex-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and former top cop of Rajasthan Harish Meena, who recently joined the Congress, has also managed to register his name in the candidates’ list and will contest from the Deoli-Uniara constituency.

The voting for 200-seat Rajasthan Assembly will be held on December 7. The counting of votes is scheduled for December 11. The results will be announced on the same day.

In 2013, the BJP under Vasundhara Raje had won a whopping 163 of the 200 assembly seats in the state.

The party, earlier in the day, witnessed a jolt in poll-bound Telangana as well as senior party leader Abid Rasool Khan resigned. He alleged that genuine Muslim ticket aspirants have been ignored by the party.

Demanding ‘social justice’ for the minority community, the former chairman of the state Minorities Commission, said the Congress should give tickets to Muslims in one constituency each in the 10 old districts of the state where the party have chances to win. “Can they not do that much?” he had asked.

For the unversed, the Congress has so far announced candidates in 75 constituencies, which include four Muslims, for the December 7 polls to the 119-member state Assembly.

The Election Commissioner of India (ECI) OP Rawat had on October 6 announced the Assembly Election 2018 schedule for five states – Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram.