Jaipur: The newly elected MLAs of the Congress in Rajasthan will meet in Jaipur on Wednesday. Trends emerging from the state show that it will be close call for the incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its arch rival Congress. (Live Updates on Rajasthan Assembly Election 2018 Results)Also Read - BJP-JDU Alliance May Break In Bihar; JDU-RJD Can Form Government: Reports

So far, the Congress has emerged victorious on at least 21 seats out of the total 199 Assembly seats in the state, the BJP has claimed 12 seats. It has been maintaining a strong lead since the vote count began in the morning. As per the latest trends, the party is leading on 102 seats, while the BJP is ahead on 72 seats, BSP 7 and Others 20. Also Read - Maharashtra Cabinet Expansion Tomorrow, Devendra Fadnavis Likely To Get Home Ministry

Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee Chief Sachin Pilot won the Tonk assembly constituency, defeating BJP’s only Muslim candidate in the state and Transport Minister Yoonus Khan. It was the first assembly elections for 41-year old Pilot, a two-time Member of Parliament, and he defeated Khan with a margin of 54,179 votes on the Muslim-dominated seat. Also Read - After Bulldozer Action, ₹25,000 Reward Announced For Info on Shrikant Tyagi, His Location Traced to Uttarakhand | Key Points

On the other hand, former chief minister Ashok Gehlot won against BJP’s Shambhu Singh from Sardarpura constituency, while CM Vasundhara Raje retained Jhalrapatan seat against Congress’s Manvendra Singh.

The polls are seen as a major test of the popularity of the BJP and the Congress which has been trying to bring all opposition parties under one roof ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

In 2013, the BJP had won 163 seats in Rajasthan while the Congress secured 21 seats only.

The counting of votes in Rajasthan began at 8 AM on Tuesday and the Congress maintained lead against the BJP since the very beginning. The final results are likely to be out by late evening today, December 11.