New Delhi: Resentment over denial of tickets to contest the upcoming Rajasthan Assembly election 2018 continued on Saturday as Congress workers protested against the state unit chief Sachin pilot by blocking his vehicle. Similar agitation was also carried out outside Rahul Gandhi’s residence in Delhi. Notably, the protest was led by Spardha Chowdhary, who was later expelled from the Congress for 6 years for anti-party activities. Also Read - Coronavirus: Total Positive Cases Climb to 1024, Death Toll Reaches 27, State Borders Sealed | Top Points

The development comes days after it was reported that Pilot indulged into an ugly spat with senior Congress leader Rameshwar Dudi while party president Rahul Gandhi was holding a meeting to finalise the first list for Rajasthan Assembly elections. Also Read - 'Stand Together With Govt But Sudden Lockdown Created Immense Panic', Rahul Gandhi Writes to PM

The argument at the Central Election Committee meeting went so loud that Rahul had to intervene to pacify the leaders. The argument  reportedly took place over ticket distribution in Phulera, Kishangarh, Ganganagar, Chittorgarh and Phalaudi. Also Read - ‘Shameful to Treat Indian Citizens Like This,’ Says Rahul Gandhi on Exodus of Migrants Due to Lockdown

Earlier on Friday, reports had claimed that  Rahul Gandhi hurried back to Delhi  leaving his Madhya Pradesh election campaigning midway, to resolve Rajasthan infighting. He cancelled his public rally in MP’s Shahdol and called a meeting to resolve the differences in the Rajasthan unit at the Congress headquarters in Delhi on Friday evening.

Former Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot, state party chief Sachin Pilot, screening committee chairperson Kumari Shailja, leader of Opposition in the Rajasthan Assembly Rameshwar Lal Dudi, senior party leaders Sonia Gandhi, Ahmed Patel, party secretaries and four members from Rajasthan screening committee reportedly attended the crucial meeting.

The Congress has its first list candidates of 152 constituents late Thursday night, is yet to decide on the candidates for the remaining 48 seats.  Party sources claimed that Rahul wants to resolve the internal rift and decide on the final list soon.

The state is going to polls on December 7. The counting will be held on December 11 along with four other states—Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.