Patna: Charges have been framed against former MP Shahabuddin and seven others in Journalist Rajdev Ranjan murder case, news agency ANI reported. Further, the next hearing has been fixed for February 12.

The other accused are Azahruddin Beig alias Laddan Mian, Vijay Kumar Gupta, Rohit Kumar Sony, Rajesh Kumar, Rishu Kumar Jaiswal, Sonu Kumar Gupta and Sonu Kumar Sony.

Shahabuddin, a four-time RJD MP from Siwan, is alleged to have been involved in the murder of Ranjan, a journalist of a prominent Hindi daily in the district.

He is facing trial in more than 45 criminal cases and was moved to Tihar Jail in February 2017 on a Supreme Court order following a plea by Siwan resident Chandrakeshwar Prasad, whose three sons were allegedly killed on behest of Shahabuddin.

Ranjan was gunned down on May 13, 2016, and his wife has accused Shahabuddin of having a role in the killing.