New Delhi: In wake of the coronavirus outbreak, the Election Commission on Tuesday deferred the Rajya Sabha polls scheduled for March 26. Also Read - NEET PG 2021: NBE Issues COVID-19 Guidelines / Advisory for Candidates | Check All Important Details Here

Election to fill up 55 seats in the Upper House of Parliament was to be held on March 26, however, 37 candidates have already been elected unanimously. Sources close to the poll panel said that the decision on holding the election for the remaining 18 seats will be taken based on the prevailing situation. Also Read - Assam Assembly Elections 2021: EC announces Re-polling at 4 Booths in 3 Constituencies on April 20

This comes a day after thirty states and Union territories declared a complete lockdown as number of positive cases across India nears 500. Also Read - Bizarre: MP Minister Usha Thakur Performs Puja At Indore Airport To Ward Off Coronavirus | Watch

The 30 states imposing complete lockdown include capital Delhi, Maharashtra, Bihar, Tripura, Assam, West Bengal, Rajasthan, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, Punjab, Gujarat, Karnataka among others.

Three states — Uttar Pradesh (India’s most populous state), Madhya Pradesh and Odisha have imposed partial lockdown in certain areas. Moreover, another union territory — Lakshwadweep has also imposed closure of some activities in its area. Till now, Sikkim and Mizoram are the only two states who haven’t imposed any restrictions.