New Delhi, June 11: Essel Group Chairman and noted philanthropist Dr Subhash Chandra today got elected to the Rajya Sabha by legislators in Haryana in a closely contested election held simultaneously in seven states for 27 seats. The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has backed Dr Chandra for the Upper House who contested the election as an independent candidate. Dr Chandra reserved berth at the Upper House with 29 votes in his favour. Also Read - Photo of Thirsty Camel Lying Dead Beside a Water Tank Goes Viral, Netizens Express Concern

Dr Chandra is a well known businessman and globally known as media baron has been associated with numerous philanthropic activities. The elections were held today as 55 Rajya Sabha members from 15 states are retiring from this month. Today elections were held for 27 seats in seven states. Earlier this month 30 candidates from eight states were elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha. Also Read - Ahead of Rajya Sabha Polls, Another Gujarat Congress MLA Resigns; Third in 2 Days

The voting was held on Saturday starting from 9 am and ended at 4 pm in Uttar Pradesh (11 seats), Madhya Pradesh (3 seats), Haryana (2 seats), Karnataka (4 seats), Rajasthan (4 seats), Jharkhand (2 seats) and Uttarakhand (1 seat). Read Also: (Rajya Sabha Elections: Kapil Sibal wins from Uttar Pradesh; this is how the numbers looked like) Also Read - Election Commission Announces By-polls for Six Vacant Seats in Rajya Sabha; Complete Schedule Here

According to reports, the results for Haryana were to be declared by the Election Commission at around 5 pm but due to the delay in counting process and objections raised by the ruling BJP, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and some independent candidates the results were declared at 7 pm.

In Haryana 14 votes of Congress were declared invalid by the Election Commission, which became a key factor for victory of Dr Chandra. Congress legislator Randeep Singh Surjewala’s vote was cancelled following an objection raised by the BJP leader Gian Chand Gupta, report said. Surjewala allegedly casted his vote to another party leader. In Haryana, all 90 legislators voted for today’s polling.