Bengaluru, June 11: In a loss of face, eight JD(S) MLAs, defying the party whip, today voted against its official candidate and supported Congress in the biennial elections to fill four Rajya Sabha seats from Karnataka. “8 MLA’s have voted against JD-S in today’s Rajya Sabha election in favour of Congress. Tomorrow in the party’s meeting, we are going to take action against them according to provisions of the party constitution,” JD-S spokesman Ramesh Babu said.(Also Read: BJP sweeps all 4 Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan, Congress-backed nominee loses) Also Read - Riding Without Helmet in Karnataka to Now Cost Three-Month Suspension of Driving Licence | All You Need to Know

The rebel MLAs who cross-voted are Zameer Ahmed Khan, Chaluvaraya Swamy, Iqbal Ansari, Balakrishna, Ramesh Bandisiddegowda, Gopalaiah, Bheema Nayak and Akhanda Srinivas Murthy, Babu said, admitting the loss much before polls ended. Dissidence-hit JD(S) had fielded businessman B M Farooq as its candidate. Calling rebels “cancer” for the party, JD-S leader and former Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy said “we should have found medicine for it. It is already late. We will have to find a solution to it before it goes to final stage.” Also Read - Torrential Rains: Flood-Like Situation in Maharashtra, Karnataka; 50 Dead in Telangana | Highlights

Speaking to reporters after casting their votes, the rebel MLAs held that the “attitude” of party leaders- H D Deve Gowda and Kumaraswamy, was the reason for their decision. Chaluvaraya Swamy said “8 of us have voted against the whip. We have shown it to our party agent. Our candidate was fielded without taking us into confidence, with a plan of taking Independent’s support,” he added. Citing a similar reason for the decision, another rebel? MLA Zameer Ahmed Khan said “if they had to field a minority candidate, there were leaders in our own party. Why did they? have to bring someone from outside? We had leaders like Danish Ali within party serving it for years.” Also Read - Bengaluru Riots: Crime Branch Chargesheet Names Two Congress Leaders For Instigating Violence

Rajya Sabha polls have an open ballot system where voter has to show the ballot paper to the official agent of the party and cast the vote. Eight members voting against the party has come as a shock to JD-S as only five rebel MLAs under the leadership of Zameer Ahmed Khan were expected to indulge in crossvoting. Congress’ decision to field the third candidate, former IPS officer K C Ramamurthy, had been giving tense moments to JD(S) which needed five additional votes to see its candidate through as it has 40 members. 45 votes are needed for victory.

Congress with 122 members is assured of two seats for former Union Ministers Jairam Ramesh and Oscar Fernandes but with a surplus of 33 votes, it fielded the third candidate. Rebel JD(S) MLAs had also indulged in cross-voting during the biennial elections to fill seven seats of the Karnataka Legislative Council from Legislative assembly held yesterday. Union Minister Nirmala Seetharaman is also in the fray.