Bengaluru: The counting of votes for Ramanagara And Jamkhandi assembly seats in Karnataka began at 8 AM today. The early trends will start coming from 8 AM onwards, however, the complete result will be out by today evening. It must be noted that voting for Ramanagara And Jamkhandi assembly seats took place on November 3. To ensure free and fair elections, a thick security blanket was thrown around the polling stations.Also Read - Karnataka Records Over 50,000 New COVID Cases, Bengaluru Contributes More Than Half | 10 Points

Besides assembly seats, results for three Lok Sabha seats Ballari, Shivamogga and Mandya in Karnataka will also be declared today, the polling for which took place on the same day as assembly seats i.e. November 3. Senior police officials said elaborate security arrangements were made in all the five constituencies on the day of polling. Also Read - Bengaluru Schools Reopening: Karnataka Govt to Take Call on January 29, Says Education Minister

“A total of 1,502 polling stations had been declared as sensitive. A total of 35,495 polling personnel will be on duty for the by-polls in which 8,922 Voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) will be used,” officials at the state Chief Electoral Officer’s office said. Also Read - Weekend Curfew Ends In Karnataka, Night Restrictions Continue | Read Latest Guidelines

The announcement of the by-polls for the 3 Lok Sabha seats came as a surprise to all the three major political parties in the state — Congress, BJP and JD(S). They questioned the need for the exercise when the general elections are due early next year.

Congress and JDS, who came together in a post-poll alliance after the assembly elections in May this year threw up a hung House, have decided to face the polls unitedly against the BJP, which they perceive as their common enemy. While the Congress has fielded its candidates in Jamkhandi and Ballari, JD(S) is contesting in Shivamogga, Ramanagara and Mandya under an electoral understanding. The outcome of the by-polls is expected to have a bearing on the alliance between Congress and JDS for the 2019 polls.

About the candidates and voters:

A total of 54,54,275 eligible voters cast their franchise in about 6,450 polling stations. There are a total 31 candidates in the fray in all the five constituencies, though the contest is mainly between the Congress-JDS combine and the BJP. In Jamkhandi, Congress candidate Anand Nyamagowda, son of former MLA Siddu Nyamagouda, is pitted against Srikant Kulkarni of the BJP. In Shivamogga, state BJP chief B S Yeddyurappa’s son B Y Raghavendra is testing his fortunes against another former chief ministerS Bangarappa’s son Madhu Bangarappa of the JD(S). In Ballari, senior BJP leader Sriramulu’s sister J Shantha is fighting against V S Ugrappa of the Congress, considered an outsider. In the Vokkaliga bastion of Mandya, JD(S)’s Shivarame Gowda, is pitted against a fresh face in Dr Siddaramaiah, a retired Commercial Tax officer from the BJP.

Among the prominent candidates in the fray is Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy’s wife Anita Kumaraswamy, who is expected to have a smooth sail facing a virtual no-contest in Ramanagara after BJP nominee L Chandrashekhar withdrew from the contest and rejoined Congress, giving a jolt days before the polls.

The by-elections were necessitated after Yeddyurappa (Shivamogga) and Sriramalu (Ballari), and C S Puttaraju of JD(S) (Mandya) resigned as MPs on their election to the assembly in May this year. Bypoll to Jamkhandi assembly seat was necessitated due to the death of Congress MLA Siddu Nyamagouda, while Ramanagara fell vacant after Kumaraswamy gave up the seat preferring Chennapatna, the other constituency from where he had won.

Live Updates

  • 11:04 AM IST

    Ramanagara And Jamkhandi By-election 2018 Results Live: Congress’s AS Nyamagouda wins from Jamkhandi.

  • 11:03 AM IST

    Ramanagara And Jamkhandi By-election 2018 Results Live: JDS’s Anitha Kumaraswamy wins from Ramanagaram.

  • 10:50 AM IST

  • 10:50 AM IST

    Ramanagara And Jamkhandi By-election 2018 Results Live: INC’s AS Nyamagouda leads by 32933 votes in Jamkhandi. JDS’s Anitha Kumaraswamy leads by 65990 votes in Ramanagaram.

  • 10:34 AM IST

  • 10:28 AM IST

    Ramanagara And Jamkhandi By-election 2018 Results Live: According to Karnataka Chief Electoral Officer Sanjeev Kumar, a total of 1,248 officials, including supervisors, staff and micro observers were deployed at the counting centres.

  • 10:26 AM IST

    Ramanagara And Jamkhandi By-election 2018 Results Live: So far, the JD(S)-Congress have maintained their equation in Ramanagara and Jamakhandi seats respectively.

  • 10:13 AM IST

    Ramanagara And Jamkhandi By-election 2018 Results Live: Prior to the bypolls, the JD(S) held Ramanagara constituency, while the Congress had Jamakhandi seat.

  • 10:09 AM IST

    Ramanagara And Jamkhandi By-election 2018 Results Live: A record of 77.17 per cent polling was registered in Jamakhandi, followed by 71.88 per cent in Ramanagara, IANS reported.