New Delhi: This Republic Day, President Ram Nath Kovind has approved the award of one Ashok Chakra, two Kirti Chakras and nine Shaurya Chakras to the Indian Army personnel. Following are the Bravehearts who have been picked for the prestigious gallantry awards this year:

  1. Ashok Chakra                               Lance Naik Nazir Ahmad Wani (Posthumous)

2. Kirti Chakra                                  Major Tushar Gauba, Sowar Vijay Kumar (Posthumous),

3. Shaurya Chakra                           Lt Col Vikrant Prasher, Maj Amit Kumar Dimri, Maj Imliakum Keitzar, Maj Rohit Lingwal, Captain Abhay Sharma, Abhinav Kumar Choudhary, Lance Naik Ayyub Ali, Sepoy Ajay Kumar                                                                                  (Posthumous), and Sapper Mahesh HN

This year, South Africa President Cyril Ramaphosa is the chief guest of the parade. Meanwhile, a total of 855 police personnel have also been chosen for medals. President’s Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG) has been awarded to three personnel, Police Medals for Gallantry have been awarded to 146 personnel, President’s Police Medals for Distinguished Service to 74 personnel and Police Medal for Meritorious Service to 632 personnel.

The CRPF, the country’s largest paramilitary force, was decorated with maximum 44 awards for bravery followed by Odisha Police at 26 medals, Jammu and Kashmir Police 25 medals and Chhattisgarh 14 medals.

Three Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel were decorated posthumously with the top category PPMG.