New Delhi: In a high level probe by the Allahabad High Court, it has now revealed that former Uttar Pradesh minister Gayatri Prajapati has paid Rs 10 crore bribe to ensure bail for himself in a rape case. As per the reports of leading daily Times Of India, the relief which was a part of deep conspiracy involved senior judges.

Allahabad High Court Chief Justice Dilip B Bhosale sought an inquiry into the matter after Prajapati’s bail raised many eyebrows.

Times of India report claims that Special judge of a Protection of Children from Sexual Offences (POCSO) court Om Prakash Mishra, who granted bail to Prajapati on April 25, was posted as POCSO (Protection of Children from Sexual Offences) judge on April 7 when he had just three weeks left for retirement.

What happened earlier? 

Earlier on April 25, former UP minister Gayatri Prajapati and two of his alleged accomplices were granted bail by a POCSO court in connection with a rape case. Special judge of a Protection of Children from Sexual Offences (POCSO) court Om Prakash Mishra granted bail to Prajapati, Vikas Verma and Amrendra Singh alias Mintu.

The court had asked Prajapati to furnish two sureties of Rs 1 lakh each and a personal bond of the same amount. An FIR was registered against Prajapati and six others on February 17 on a directive of the Supreme Court. After being on the run for nearly a month, 49-year-old Prajapati was arrested from Aashiyana area here on March 15 and sent to jail for allegedly raping a woman and attempting to rape her minor daughter in 2014.

The six others had been arrested earlier. Prajapati had approached the Supreme Court to get a stay on his arrest but the top court asked him to approach the court concerned. At the time of his arrest, Prajapati had claimed that he was innocent and alleged the charges were a conspiracy to malign him. The former minister had said that he was prepared for a Narco test to bring out the truth and also demanded that similar test on the minor victim.

The allegations against Prajapati were raked by the BJP during the elections to attack the then Akhilesh Yadav led government.