New Delhi, July 14: President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday made four nominations to the Rajya Sabha, on the recommendation of the Modi-led central government. Also Read - How Chirag Reacted After BJP Nominated Sushil Modi For Rajya Sabha Seat Won by His Father Ram Vilas Paswan

Those who have been nominated to the Upper House of Parliament include –  farmer leader Ram Shakal, Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) thinker and columnist-writer Rakesh Sinha, sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra and classical dancer Sonal Mansingh. Also Read - Rajya Sabha Seat Left Vacant After Ram Vilas Paswan's Death May Not go to LJP Again - This is Why

Here’s all you need to know about the four noted personalities:  Also Read - 'Rajya Sabha Footage Shreds Government’s Version', Oppn Comes Down Heavily on Govt; Dy Chairman Issues Clarification

Ram Shakal: A farmer leader, he is widely respected for championing the cause of farmers, labourers and migrants. He has devoted his life for the welfare of the Dalit community. He has also been a three-time Member of Parliament, representing Robertsganj constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

Rakesh Sinha: Founder and Honorary Director of the Delhi-based think-tank ‘India Policy Foundation’, Sinha is a professor in Motilal Nehu College of Delhi University. He is a regular columnist in a range of newspapers.

Raghunath Mohapatra: He is a well-known sculptor who has been practising since 1959. His popular works include a 6-feet high statue of the Sun God carved in grey sandstone, in the Central Hall of Parliament; and the Wooden Buddha, Buddha Temple, Paris.

Sonal Mansingh: Born in  Mumbai, she is an Indian classical dancer who has been performing Bharatnatyam and Odissi for over six decades. In 1977, she founded, Centre for Indian Classical Dances (CICD) in New Delhi.

As per the Constitution of India, President has the tight to nominate 12 MPs to Rajya Sabha with special knowledge, or practical experience in respect of literature, science, art and social service.