Agartala, Mar 3: The counting for results of Tripura Assembly Elections 2018 began at 8 A.M on various counting centers across the state on Saturday. In an unprecedented development, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) dislodged the Communist Party of India (Marxist) after 25 years in power. Also Read - PM Modi Inaugurates Maitri Setu Bridge Linking India-Bangladesh, Says Tripura Emerging As Role Model

The electoral contest on Santirbazar (ST), Hrishyamukh, Jolaibari (ST), Manu (ST) and Sabroom seats of Tripura resembled results of other constituencies. While the CPM Succeeded in retaining three seats, BJP won on two seats for the first time in the northeastern state. Also Read - Maitri Setu: 1.9km Long Bridge Over Feni River in Tripura To Link India-Bangladesh. Details Here

Santirbazar (ST) Also Read - New Tripura Chief Minister to be Picked Today; Biplab Kumar Deb is Front-runner

Santirbazar, constituency number 36, is reserved for scheduled tribe candidates. In 2013 Tripura Assembly Elections, CPI(M)’s Manindra Reang had won it against INC’s Gouri Sankar Reang.
Pramod Reang BJP Winner
Baneti Reang Congress
Manindra ReangCPI

Hrishyamukh, constituency number 37, is currently held by CPI(M)’s Badal Choudhury. He had defeated INC’s Susankar Bhowmik in 2013 Tripura Assembly elections.

Badal Choudhury CPM Winner
Dilip Kumar ChoudhuryCongress
Ashesh BaidyaBJP

 Jolaibari (ST)

Jolaibari (ST), constituency number 38, is reserved for the scheduled tribe candidates. It was won by Jashbir Tripura of CPI(M) in 2013 Tripura Assembly elections.

Jashabir Tripura CPM Winner
Braja Mohan TripuraCongress
Ankya Mog ChoudhuriBJP

Manu (ST)

Manu (ST), constituency number 39, is reserved for scheduled tribe candidates. The seat went to bye-election in 2014 and was won by CPI(M)’s Jitendra Chaudhury against INC’s Mailafru Mog.

Dhananjoy TripuraIPFT
Pravat ChowdhuryCPI(M) Winner
Mongla MogIndian National Congress


Sabroom, constituency number 40, was won by Rita Kar (Majumder) of CPI(M) against Premtosh of the INC in 2013 Tripura Assembly elections.

Rita Kar MajumderCommunist Party of India (Marxist)
Manoranjan DattaIndian National Congress
Sankar RoyBharatiya Janata Party Winner