Bengaluru, May 9: 224 constituencies of Karnataka Assembly including Sedam, Chincholi, Gulbarga Rural, Gulbarga Dakshin and Gulbarga Uttar will go to polls on May 12. The result of the election in Sedam, Chincholi, Gulbarga Rural, Gulbarga Dakshin and Gulbarga Uttar Vidhan Sabha seats will be declared on May 15. Though the ruling Congress and the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are in direct contest with each other in Karnataka Assembly elections 2018, the Janata Dal-Secular may also play a key role in government formation.

The Sedam Assembly constituency witnessed a triangular contest between Dr Sharan Prakash Rudrappa Patil of the Congress, BJP’s Rajkumar Patil and JD-S candidate Sunita Mahantesh Talawar Malkhed. Dr Sharan Prakash had defeated Patil in 2013 from the seat by more than 10,000 votes. To retain Chincholi Vidhan Sabha seat, the Congress fielded incumbent MLA Dr Umesh G Jadhav, who is facing a challenge from Sunil Y Vallyapure of the BJP and Sushilabai B Korvi of the JD-S.

In Gulbarga Rural Assembly constituency, the contest is between the current Congress legislator Vijaykumar G Ramakrishna, Basawaraj Mattimud of the BJP, CPM’s Ambalaga Maruti Manapade and Revu Naik Belamagi of the JD-S. To retain the Gulbarga Dakshin seat, the BJP pitted incumbent MLA Dattatraya C Patil Revoor Appu Gouda, who will face a challenge from Allamprabhu Patil of the Congress. BSP’s Suryakant Nimbalkar and JD-S’s Basavaraj Diggavi are also in the fray.

For Gulbarga Uttar Assembly seat, the Congress fielded Kaneez Fatima, while the BJP gave a chance to Chandrakant B Patil (Chandu Patil). AAP’s Sanjeevkumar Karikal and Nasir Hussain Ustad of the JD-S are also in the fray. In the outgoing assembly, the Congress has 122 legislators. On the other hand, the BJP has 48 legislators.