New Delhi: The polls for Shahdara Assembly constituency were held on February 8. The counting of votes for this constituency began at 8 AM. While trends showed the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Sanjay Goyal in lead, the Aam Aadmi Party has shifted the scene and secured a victory with incumbent candidate Ram Niwas Goyal. The difference in votes between the two contestants was 5,294. Also Read - Deploy Resources in Saving Lives Instead of Building PM's New House: Priyanka Gandhi

In the Delhi Assembly Election 2020, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has re-nominated sitting MLA Ram Niwas Goel for Shahdara Assembly constituency, the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have named Narendra Nath and Sanjay Goyal, respectively for the polls. Also Read - BJP to Hold Nationwide Dharna on May 5 Against Widespread Violence Post Bengal Election Results

Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020 LIVE Streaming on ZEE News Also Read - Tamil Nadu Election Results 2021: Here's Full List of Winners Constituency-wise

Of the 1,88,578 voters in the Assembly seat, 99,090 are men and 89,483 women. For whom they have voted would be known on February 11.

In 2015 Delhi Assembly Election, AAP’s Ram Niwas Goel received massive victory with 58523 votes followed by BJP’s Jitender Singh Shunty with 46792 votes and INC’s Narender Singh with 9423 votes.

Meanwhile, the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) which were used in Delhi Assembly Election 2020, were kept under tight security in the ‘Strong Room’. This time the Delhi elections took place peacefully and smoothly.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 Vote Counting Live Updates on Election Commission of India Website

Holding a press conference, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh on Sunday said that the total voter turnout in Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 was 62. 95 per cent.

“The voter turnout in Delhi was 62.59 per cent. It is about 2 per cent more than the last Lok Sabha elections. It is, however, less than the turnout in the last Assembly polls held in 2015,” Singh had said.