Mumbai, Jan 23: The Shiv Sena has decided to part ways with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and go solo in the next Lok Sabha and Maharashtra Assembly elections scheduled in 2019, said senior leader Sanjay Raut on Tuesday after a resolution to this effect was passed by the party national executive in Mumbai. According to the Shiv Sena, it has been demoralised by the BJP in the last three years. Raut said that Shiv Sena will fight for its pride and contest the 2019 elections independently.Also Read - Omicron Scare: From RT-PCR Testing To Large Sitting Area, Mumbai Airport Readies To Implement New Covid Rules

At the party’s national executive meet, Uddhav Thackeray was re-elected as Shiv Sena president. Yuva Sena chief and Uddhav’s elder son Aaditya Thackeray has been named a member of Shiv Sena’s national executive. Aaditya is widely viewed as Uddhav’s political heir. With his promotion, the Shiv Sena will see the third generation of leadership from the Thackeray family. Also Read - Maharashtra Covid Update: 6 International Passengers From 'At-Risk' Countries Test Positive 

Shiv Sena, which is the junior partner in the coalition government led by the BJP in Maharashtra, had threatened several times in the past to walk out of the NDA government. Earlier, Aaditya Thackeray said the party will snap ties with BJP in Maharashtra within one year. He had further said the Shiv Sena will come to power in Maharashtra in 2019 after quitting the BJP-led alliance. Also Read - Kolkata Municipal Polls: BJP Announces List of Candidates For Civic Elections in Kolkata

Ahead of the Assembly elections in 2014, Shiv Sena had decided to part ways with its ally BJP but that separation, however, was short-lived as the two reconciled after just 40 days. The two parties have been at loggerheads since the Thackeray-led party failed to get some plum portfolios it aspired for.

Currently, the BJP has 123 legislators and has the support of another 11 legislators. Shiv Sena has 63 seats in the 288-member house. A party needs the support of 145 MLAs to form a government.