New Delhi: After holding a neck-to-neck fight with the BJP, Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia finally won the Patparganj seat by 3,000 votes.  As per the latest update from the EC, Sisodia came ahead of his rival BJP’s Ravinder Singh Negi.

Soon after the counting trends showed him winning the Patparganj assembly seat, Sisodia said he is happy to win from his constituency. He alleged that the BJP tried to do politics of hatred.

“I am happy to become the MLA from Patparganj assembly constituency again. The BJP tried to do politics of hatred, but the people of Delhi chose a government that works for the people,” he said.

The AAP leader and Delhi’s Deputy CM later held a road show marking his victory from his constituency. He took out a roadshow to celebrate the party’s performance in the polls.

As per the updates at 11 AM, Sisodia had bagged 13,844 votes while BJP’s Ravinder Singh Negi had got 15,271.

After New Delhi constituency, Patparganj is a prestigious seat for the AAP as Sisodia was contesting from this constituency.

In 1993, the BJP had won this seat and later it went to the Congress till Sisodia won it last time in 2013 and 2015. Vote share of Sisodia in the constituency increasing from 41.5 per cent (2013) to 53.5 per cent (2015). The counting of votes for 70 seats of the Delhi Assembly began amid tight security at 8 am today.