New Delhi, May 14: Hours before the results of Karnataka Assembly Election Results 2018, Smriti Irani has been shunted out from the Information and Broadcasting Ministry as Rajyavardhan Rathore has been asked to take independent charge of the portfolio. Irani will now only handle the Textile Ministry, which she has been handling since July 2016.  Earlier also, she was  removed as the HRD Minister and was replaced by Prakash Javadekar. Also Read - From Amit Shah To Smriti Irani, Top BJP Leaders Condemn Attack On JP Nadda’s Convey In Bengal

In another significant reshuffle, Piyush Goyal who was in charge of the Railway Ministry was given additional charge of Finance Ministry till Arun Jaitley recovers from his illness. Earlier in the day, Jaitley had undergone a renal transplant surgery at New Delhi’s AIIMS. Also Read - Union Minister for Chemicals and Fertilizers Sadananda Gowda Tests Positive For COVID-19

Furthermore, SS Ahluwalia will look after the Electronics Ministry while Minister of State in the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology KJ Alphons will now handle only Tourism Ministry. Also Read - Smriti Irani Tests COVID Positive, Urges All Who Came in Contact With Her to Get Tested

In a press statement the Rashtrapati Bhavan said,”The President of India, as advised by the Prime Minister, has directed the following reallocation of portfolios amongst the members of the Union Council of Ministers:-

(i) During the period of indisposition of Shri Arun Jaitley, Minister; the portfolios of Minister of Finance and Minister of Corporate Affairs held by him, be temporarily assigned to Shri Piyush Goyal, in addition to his existing portfolios.

(ii) Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore be assigned the independent charge as Minister of State in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, in place of Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani, presently Minister of Information and Broadcasting.

(iii) Shri SS Ahluwalia, Minister of State be relieved of the charge of Ministry of Drinking Water & Sanitation and assigned the portfolio of Ministry of State in the Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology.”