Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018 Latest Updates: The counting of votes for 222-Assembly constituencies, out of the total 224, of Karnataka will be held on May 15 i.e. Tuesday, today. The voting for Karnataka Elections 2018 was held on May 12 (Saturday) in which a record 72.13 per cent voter turnout was recorded. The Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018 will be announced today. The 50 seats in the region are witnessing a triangular contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and HD Deve Gowda-led Janata Dal Secular (JDS). It will be interesting to see which party wins the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018. For CM post, the BJP has fielded BS Yeddyurappa, whereas Siddaramaiah and HD Kumaraswamy have been fielded by the Congress and JD(S) respectively. (Live streaming of Karnataka Polls Results)Also Read - Breaking News Highlights: 5 Members of Gang in UP TET Question Paper Leak Incident Arrested

(Click here for Live Updates on Karnataka Elections 2018 Results) Also Read - Kolkata Municipal Polls: BJP Announces List of Candidates For Civic Elections in Kolkata

Assembly constituencies that fall under Southern Karnataka region are – Chiknayakanhalli, Tiptur, Turuvekere, Kunigal, Tumkur City, Tumkur Rural, Koratagere, Gubbi, Sira, Madhugiri, Gauribidanur, Bagepalli, Chikkaballapur, Sidlaghatta, Chintamani, Srinivaspur, Mulbagal, Kolar Gold Field, Bangarapet, Kolar, Malur, Malavalli, Maddur, Melukote, Mandya, Shrirangapattana, Nagamangala, Krishnarajpet, Shravanabelagola, Arsikere, Belur, Hassan, Holenarasipur, Arkalgud, Sakleshpur, Periyapatna, Krishnarajanagara, Hunsur, Heggadadevankote, Nanjangud, Chamundeshwari, Krishnaraja, Chamaraja, Narasimharaja, Varuna, T.Narasipur, Hanur, Kollegal, Chamarajanagar and Gundlupet. (Karnataka Exit Polls Predict a Hung House, BJP Ahead by a Nose) Also Read - Highlights of the Day: 'Honoured And Humbled,' Parag Agrawal on Being Named New Twitter CEO

Out of the total constituencies under Southern Karnataka, Varuna seat is to be watched out for. The Congress has fielded Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s son Dr Yathindra who will be fighting against BJP’s Thotadappa Basavaraju and Abhishek S. Manegar of the JD(S). Siddaramaiah has been contesting from this constituency since 2008. Varuna, a Congress bastion, was easily won by Siddaramaiah in the last election against Karnataka Jana Paksha’s (KJP) Kapu Siddalingaswamy and Cheluvaraj of the JD(S) by a comfortable margin of 29,641 votes.

The exit poll predictions for Karnataka Elections 2018 on Saturday presented a conflicting picture. Some exit polls gave the BJP  an edge over the ruling Congress, others predicted that the Congress might get the most seats. Some even predicted a hung Assembly in Karnataka.

Congress is likely to win 106-118 seats with 39 per cent vote share and will be the single-largest party in Karnataka, whereas BJP will win around 79-92 seats, JD(S) and its allies will bag 22-30 seats and 1-4 seats will go into the Independents’ kitty, India Today-Axis My India exit poll predicted. (Karnataka Polls: Neither Siddaramaiah, Nor Yeddyurappa Will Become Chief Minister, Claims JD(S))

Meanwhile, ABP C-Voter exit poll predicted 101-113 seats for BJP. It has predicted 82 to 94 seats for Congress, while JD(S) and others will get 18-31 seats and 1 to 8 seats respectively.

In Karnataka, no party since 1985 came to power for a second consecutive term. Congress had won 122 seats and the BJP 40 seats in the last Karnataka Assembly election in 2013. The term of current Karnataka Assembly ends on May 28.

Live Updates

  • 9:04 PM IST

    Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018: The results for Southern Karnataka are out. Altogether, the BJP has managed to win nine seats in the region whereas, the Congress and JDS have won 15 and 24 seats, respectively.

  • 1:58 PM IST
    Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018:

    From Heggadadevankote, Congress candidate Anil Kumar C has won whereas, JDS candidate Chikkanna has lost.

    From Chamaraja, BJP’s L Nagendra has won whereas, Congress candidate Vasu has lost.

    From Hunsur, JDS candidate Adaguru H Vishwanath has won.
  • 1:56 PM IST
    Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018:

    From Shravanabelagola, JDS candidate CN Balakrishna has won whereas, Congress candidate CS Puttegowda has lost.

    From Hassan, BJP’s Preetham J Gowda has won whereas, JDS candidate HS Prakash has lost.
  • 12:08 PM IST

    Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018: Karnataka Chief Minister and Congress’s chief ministerial candidate Siddaramaiah trailing from Chamundeshwari by over 25,000 votes. He is contesting against GT Devegowda of JDS.

  • 11:42 AM IST
    Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018: People have rejected Siddaramaiah. He lost because of his attitude, because of attacking everyone & because of his loose talk, says GT Devegowda, JD(S) candidate who is leading over Siddaramaiah in Chamundeshwari by 17000 votes.

  • 11:23 AM IST

    Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018: Overall picture of Karnataka shows BJP leading on 114 seats. On the other hand, Congress is ahead on 55 seats whereas, JDS is leading on 39.

  • 10:28 AM IST

    Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018: BJP is leading on nine seats whereas, Congress and JDS are ahead on 18 and 22 seats respectively.

  • 9:26 AM IST

    Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018:

    Sakleshpur – Somashekar Jayaraj (BJP) Leading
    Periyapatna – K. Mahadeva (JD(S)) Leading
    Krishnarajanagara – Sa. Ra. Mahesh (JD(S)) Leading
    Hunsur – Adaguru H Vishwanath (JD(S)) Leading
    Heggadadevankote – Siddaraju (BJP) Leading
    Nanjangud – Harshavardhan B (BJP) Leading
    Chamundeshwari – G.T.Devegowda (JD(S)) Leading
    Krishnaraja – M K Somashekar (INC) Leading
    Chamaraja – Vasu (INC) Leading
    Varuna – Yathindra S (INC) Leading
    T.Narasipur – Dr. H.C.Mahadevappa (INC) Leading
    Hanur – Dr. Preethan Nagappa (BJP) Leading
    Kollegal – N. Mahesh (BSP) Leading
    Chamarajanagar – C Puttarangashetty (INC) Leading
  • 9:23 AM IST
    Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018:

    Maddur – D.C.Thammanna (JD(S)) Leading
    Melukote – C S Puttaraju (JD(S) )Leading
    Mandya – M Srinivas (JD(S))Leading
    Shrirangapattana – Ravindra Srikantaiah (JD(S)) Leading
    Nagamangala – Suresh Gowdaa (JD(S)) Leading
    Krishnarajpet – Narayanagowda (JD(S)) Leading
    Shravanabelagola – C N Balakrishna (JD(S)) Leading
    Arsikere – K.M Shivalinge Gowda (JD(S)) Leading
    Belur – Keerthana Rudreshagowda (INC) Leading
    Hassan – H S Prakash (JD(S)) Leading
    Holenarasipur – H D Revanna (JD(S)) Leading
  • 9:20 AM IST
    Southern Karnataka Election Results 2018:

    Tumkur City- G.B. Jyothi Ganesh (BJP) Leading
    Gauribidanur- N.H.Shivashankara Reddy (INC) Leading
    Chikkaballapur- Dr. K. Sudhakar (INC) Leading
    Srinivaspur- K R Ramesh Kumar (INC) Leading
    Mulbagal- Samruddhi Manjunath (JD(S)) Leading
    Kolar gold field – Roopakala.M (INC) Leading
    Kolar – K.Srinivasa Gowda (JD(S)) Leading
    Malur – K.Y. Nanjegowda (INC) Leading
    Malavalli – Dr.K.Annadani (JD(S)) Leading