Sunam, March 11: Sunam constituency of Punjab falls in Sangrur district. The seat went into polls on February 4, along with other assembly segments. The results were declared by Election Commission on Saturday. AAP candidate Aman Arora emerged victorious from Sunam seat. The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) had allotted the ticket to Gobind Singh Longowal, whereas, Congress’ candidate was Daaman Thind Bajwa. .Also Read - Yearender 2017: Elections That BJP Won Under Narendra Modi's Leadership This Year

Although Sunam was considered to be an Akali bastion, the tides in run-up to the Punjab assembly elections 2017 shifted in AAP’s favour. SAD’s 4-time incumbent MLA from the seat – Parmanand Singh Dhindsa shifted his candidature to neighbouring Lehra constituency, compelling the party to find his replacement in Sunam. Also Read - Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017 Results: Congress Steals the March in PM Narendra Modi’s Hometown of Unjha

Sunam Election Results 2017: Also Read - Baijnath, Dehra, Dharamshala, Fatehpur, Indora Election 2017 Winners: BJP Wins 3 Seats in Kangra District

Punjab – Sunam
Result Declared
AMAN ARORAAam Aadmi Party72815
GOBIND SINGH LONGOWALShiromani Akali Dal42508
DAAMAN THIND BAJWAIndian National Congress30518
RAJINDER DEEPAIndependent3237
SAHBAJ SINGH DASKAShiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar)(Simranjit Singh Mann)1041
LABH SINGHIndependent927
JARNAIL SINGHCommunist Party of India (Marxist)911
RAM SINGHBahujan Samaj Party641
BINDER SINGHIndependent322
PARAMJEET KAURIndependent203
RANDHIR SINGHAapna Punjab Party190
None of the AboveNone of the Above1718

Aman Arora, the AAP candidate, has been unsuccessful since past two occasions to bag the seat. However, in 2012, he lost by margin of less than 4,000 votes. Arora was then then Congress’ candidate. He is confident to seal the deal in this round of elections, fought on AAP ticket. The region, falling under Malwa belt witnessed a pro-Arvind Kejriwal wave in run-up to the polls.

As per the data released by Election Commission, the total amount of polling recorded in Sunam in this elections is 84.3 per cent, anove the state average of 77.4 per cent. The total number of registered voters in Sunam constituency is 1,83,712