New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind on Monday appointed Sunil Arora as the Chief Election Commissioner. He will take charge on December 2, highly-placed sources in the Law Ministry said. Also Read - Online Nomination, Extension in Voting Time: How EC Plans to Hold Elections to 5 Assemblies During Pandemic

Though a formal notification announcing his appointment is yet to be issued, his name has been cleared by the Centre and sent to Rashtrapati Bhawan, the sources said. Also Read - Bihar Assembly Election 2020 Dates Announced, EC Issues Protocol For Polls Amid COVID-19 | Check Full Schedule Here

“Yes. His name has been cleared. He is the next CEC. A notification will follow,” a senior functionary said. Also Read - Bihar Elections 2020: We Are Confident That NDA Will Get Majority, Says Ravi Shankar Prasad

Election Commission will hold the 2019 general election under him. Besides the Lok Sabha polls, Assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Maharashtra, Haryana, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim are scheduled to be held next year.

Arora, a 1980 batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre, will take over Om Prakash Rawat as the head of the poll panel as per convention, whose tenure ends next month.

A former bureaucrat, Arora was appointed Election Commissioner in September last year.

Arora (62) had been the Information and Broadcasting Secretary, and Secretary in the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

A 1980 batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre, Arora has worked in ministries and departments such as Finance, Textiles and Planning Commission.

He also served as Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Civil Aviation during 1999-2002 and CMD, Indian Airlines for five years (two years as additional charge and three years as full charge).

In Rajasthan, besides district postings in Dholpur, Alwar, Nagaur and Jodhpur, he was Secretary to the Chief Minister during 1993-1998 and Principal Secretary to CM (2005- 2008) and handled Information and Public Relations (IPR), Industries and Investment Departments.