New Delhi, September 29: The Indian Army on Thursday conducted surgical strikes on terror launch pads in Pakistan occupied Kashmir after crossing Line of Control (LoC), said Lieutenant General, Ranbir Singh, Director General of Military Operations (DGMO). The motive behind the operation was to hit out terrorists who were planning to infiltrate into Indian territory and were also planning to attack metros in India, DGMO said while addressing the press conference. During the operation, a significant number of terrorists and their supporters died while there were no Indian casualties, DGMO informed. Also Read - Army Day 2021: Who Was Field Marshal KM Cariappa? All About The 'Kipper' of Indian Army

After the operation ended, the DGMO spoke to his Pakistani counterpart DGMO over the strike and shared his concerns over the surgical operations. The DGMO told his counterpart that, Indian Armed Forces has conducted surgical strikes in Pakistan occupied Kashmir across the Line of Control. “Late last night the Indian Army conducted surgical strikes on terror launch pads on the LoC, significant casualties have been caused, Said DGMO Ranbir Singh. He further added, “Despite our persistent urging to Pakistan to not allow territory under its control to not be used for terrorist activities nothing was done fro their side. Also Read – Surgical strikes by Indian Army in PoK: 6 to 8 terror launch pads destroyed across LoC by para-dropped commandos Also Read - Army Day 2021: Motivational Quotes, Messages, And Wishes to Celebrate The Valiant Men And Women of Indian Army

Pakistan’s Inter Service Intelligence (ISI) Public Relations also confirmed that the surgical strike has been carried out in Bhimber, Hotspring, Kel and Lipa sectors, which is on Pakistan’s side of LoC. After the surgical strike was carried out by Indian Armed Forces, President Pranab Mukherjee, Vice President Hamid Ansari, Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Jammu and Kashmir Governor and J&K CM Mehbooba Mufti were also briefed about the situation. Meanwhile Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif said, “We condemn this attack, our desire for peace should not be interpreted as our weakness. We are ready for the safety and defence of our country”. Sharif also condemned the death of two Pakistani soldiers who were killed at the LoC. Also Read – Most Favoured Nation status to Pakistan: Prime Minister Narendra Modi to chair a high-level meeting today Also Read - Army Day 2021: Why is January 15 Celebrated As Army Day? History, Significance | All You Need to Know

Today’s matter of surgical strikes has been taken by the Indian Armed forces at the highest level. The DGMO also informed that the Security Forces in India has foiled almost 20 infiltration attempt this year. The DGMO said that the Pakistani Army was informed about the cross-border strikes as the action came after escalating violations of the 2003 ceasefire. The DGMO also said that those terrorists who were recently arrested have confessed to their training and arming in Pakistan and GPS systems were also recovered from them, which firm Pakistani connect. According to former Air Chief, a surgical strike is “a calculated maneuver to ensure maximum damage has been caused with a big surprise”.

Today’s surgical strikes carried out by Indian Armed Forces are the first major military action taken by India eleven days after terrorists from Pakistan crossed into an army camp in Uri, Jammu, and Kashmir and killed 19 soldiers. After Uri attack, Prime Minister Narendra Modi pledged that those behind the deadly strikes will not go unpunished.

On Thursday morning a high-level meeting was chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in which details about today’s strike was briefed to him along with Cabinet Committee on Security. The Narendra Modi government in recent weeks had shown indications that its campaign against Pakistan will be largely based on isolating Pakistan diplomatically. In the line of his statement, Narendra Modi said he will not travel to Pakistan in November to attend the regional SAARC summit. Three other countries -Afghanistan, Bhutan, and Bangladesh – have joined India’s boycott to SAARC.