Agartala, Mar 3: Tripura Assembly Elections 2018 results will be declared on March 3, today. The counting of votes began at 8 AM. Voting for 59 out of 60-Assembly constituencies of Tripura was held on February 18 in single-phase and 91.54 per cent voter turnout was recorded. Polling in the Charilam constituency was countermanded due to the death of CPI(M) candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma ahead of the election. Surma (SC), Ambassa (ST), Karmachhara (ST), Chawamanu (ST) and Pabiachhara (SC) Assembly seats went to polls on the same day. The results of Surma (SC), Ambassa (ST), Karmachhara (ST), Chawamanu (ST) and Pabiachhara (SC) Assembly seats will be announced today. The seats are being contested by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Communist Party of India (Marxist) and the Indian National Congress (INC) in Tripura Assembly Elections 2018. Also Read - Congress MP Rajeev Satav Dies of COVID-Related Complications; Tributes Pour in

6.14 PM: Ashis Das of BJP has won from Surma whereas, Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl of BJP has won from Karmachhara. Meanwhile, Sambhu Lal Chakma of BJP has won from Chawamanu and Bhagaban Das of BJP has won from Pabiachhara Also Read - 'Should We Hang Ourselves If Vaccines Are Not Available' Asks Union Minister Sadananda Gowda

3:11 PM: Ambassa has been won by BJP’s Parimal Debbarma against CPI(M)’s Bharat Reang. Also Read - Congress Decides to Postpone Party President Election Due to Pandemic

11:44 AM: This is a revolutionary result, all due to the blessings of Tripura Sundari Mata and people of the state and the hard work of PM Modi and party workers, says Ram Madhav of BJP

10:15 AM: Trends are encouraging, I am hopeful and confident that BJP will form the Govt in Tripura, says Himanta Biswa Sarma of BJP

10:03 AM: CPI’s Brinda Karat is confident of win. “We are very confident, let more rounds of counting complete, our leads are going to get much bigger,” she said.

9:41 AM: It’s neck-and-neck in Tripura between Left and the BJP+. Both are leading on 28 seats whereas, others are ahead on one.

9:27 AM: In Tripura, Left is ahead of the BJP+. The party has gained lead on 27 seats whereas, the BJP+ is leading on 25 seats.

9:10 AM: Left has again gained lead in Tripura. The BJP+ is ahead on 20 seats whereas, the Left is leading on 25 seats.

9:00 AM: Trends of 40 seats are out. On 21 seats BJP+ is leading whereas, the Congress is ahead on 2 and the Left on 17 seats.

8:44 AM: BJP+ has turned tables. It is leading on 22 seats whereas, Left is ahead on 16 seats. Congress is trailing with lead on one seat.

8:44 AM: The early trends suggest that the Left is leading on 16 seats and the BJP+ is ahead on 8 seats whereas, the Congress leads on one.

8:37 AM: The Congress is leading on one seat in Tripura. Counting of votes began at 8 AM today. The results are expected to be declared around afternoon.

8:33 AM: In Tripura, the trends on 19 seats are out – the Left is leading on 10 seats whereas, the BJP is ahead on 9 seats.

8:00 AM: Counting of votes for Tripura Assembly Elections 2018 began at 8 AM. As per the early trends, Left is leading on 6 seats. On the other hand, the BJP+ is ahead in six seats.

Surma (SC)

Surma (SC) is reserved for SC candidates. The main fight on Surma (SC) is considered between the Congress, BJP, CPI(M) and AITC. For Tripura Assembly Elections 2018, the Congress has fielded Tapas Kumar Das, BJP has fielded Ashis Das, CPI (M) fielded Anjan Das and All India Trinamool Congress chose Jay Kumar Keot from the seat. In 2013, CPM’s Sudhir Das registered thumping victory from constituency number 46.

Ambassa (ST)

Ambassa (ST), constituency number 47, is reserved for Scheduled Tribe candidates. For Tripura Assembly Election 2018, the Indian National Congress has fielded Sachitra Debbarma, BJP has nominated Parimal Debbarma, CPI(M) has fielded Bharat Reang. A few regional parties and Independent candidates are also in the fray. In 2013, the constituency was won by CPM’s Lalit Kumar Debbarma.

Karmachhara (ST)

Karmachhara (ST), constituency number 48, is also reserved for Scheduled Tribe candidates. For Tripura Assembly Elections 2018, Congress has fielded Ranjanbati Debbarma, CPI(M) has fielded Umakanta Tripura, Bharatiya Janata Party has shown its faith on Dibachandra Hrangkhawl and Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra nominated Ratish Tripura. The constituency was won by Congress’ Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl in 2013.

Chawamanu (ST)

Chawamanu (ST), constituency number 49, is also reserved for candidates under Scheduled Tribe category. It was won by CPM’s Nirajoy Tripura had won the seat in 2013 Assembly polls. For Tripura Assembly elections 2018, CPI(M) has fielded Nirajoy Tripura whereas BJP has chosen Sambhu Lal Chakma. Congress candidate Ashok Mitra Karbari is also in the fray along with several Independent and regional parties candidates.

Pabiachhara (SC)

Pabiachhara (SC) is reserved for candidates under scheduled caste category.  The main fight on this seat is considered between Congress, BJP and CPI(M) in Tripura Assembly Elections 2018. In 2013, CPI(M)’s Samiran Malakar had defeated Congress’s Satyaban Das.

The polling for Tripura Assembly Elections 2018 was held on February 18. The term of current Tripura Assembly ends on March 14.