Chennai, Apr 25: AIADMK supremo and Chief Minister Jayalalithaa, DMK President Karunanidhi and PMK’s chief ministerial candidate Anbumani Ramadoss were among 777 candidates who filed their nominations today for the May 16 Tamil Nadu Assembly elections. A total number of 860 candidates have filed their papers so far since nominations opened on April 22, Election authorities said adding of this 759 were men and 101 women. ALSO READ: Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2016: Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa files nomination Also Read - Unable to Break Open ATM, Robbers Steal The Whole Machine in Tamil Nadu's Tiruppur

Jayalalithaa filed her papers seeking re-election from RK Nagar constituency in the city, DMK chief Karunanidhi at Tiruvarur and PMK nominee and Dharmapuri Lok Sabha MP Anbumani Ramadoss in Pennagaram. BJP’s State Vice President Vanathi Srinivasan (Coimbatore South), former DMK Minister MRK Panneerselvam (Kurinjipadi) were among the other party leaders who filed their nomination papers today. AIADMK candidates are expected to file their papers in a couple of days even as the ruling party today changed its candidate in Kumbakonam constituency. In the place of Rama Ramanathan it has nominated Kumbakonam Municipal Chairperson S Ratna. Also Read - Lockdown News: These States Impose Lockdown-Like Restrictions in March, Only Essential Services Allowed | Full List

Also Read - Rahul Gandhi Enjoys Palm Fruit With Locals in Tamil Nadu's Kanyakumari, Video Goes Viral | Watch