Chennai: The 18 rebel AIADMK MLAs whose disqualification had been upheld by the high court have decided to move Supreme Court, said ANI on Friday. Addressing media, Thanga Tamil Selvan, one of the MLAs, said, “Our advocate says that there are many drawbacks in this verdict by Madras High Court. Within 30 to 90 days, we will approach Supreme Court.” (Also read: SC Appoints Third Judge, Refuses to Move Case From HC) Also Read - Centre Directs Tamil Nadu to Revoke Decision of Allowing Full Seating Capacity in Theatres

On Thursday, the Madras High Court had upheld the June 14 order of the then Chief Justice disqualifying the MLAs. The decision came as a relief to the K Palaniswami government in the state. Justice M Sathyanarayanan heard the pleas of the rival parties after a bench of then Chief Justice Indira Banerjee and Justice M Sundar gave a split verdict on June 14. The 18 MLAs are said to be loyal to sidelined AIADMK leader TTV Dhinakaran, who has now formed his own party, the AMMK. Also Read - Tamil Nadu Bans Gatherings At Beaches, Resorts, Pubs For New Year Due To COVID-19

Justice Sathyanarayanan said there was no infirmity in the order of the Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal, which was upheld by Banerjee. “All the material that was available at the time of the passing of the order by the Speaker alone have been taken into consideration and this court cannot go into the subsequent events,” he observed while upholding their disqualification. The 18 AIADMK MLAs were disqualified on September 18 last year under the anti-defection law after they met the Governor and expressed a loss of confidence in Chief Minister Palaniswami. Also Read - Kamal Haasan Hints At Ties With Rajinikanth For Polls, Invokes AIADMK Icon M G Ramachandran's Legacy

Following the split verdict, with Banerjee upholding the disqualification and Sundar setting it aside, Justice S Vimala was appointed to hear the petitions afresh. However, the Supreme Court named Justice Sathyanarayanan to hear the matter, while declining to accept a prayer of the disqualified MLAs who raised apprehension of “bias”. They had sought the matter to be transferred to the apex court.