New Delhi/Vijaywada: The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has pulled out of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) over its demand of special status to Andhra Pradesh. The party has moved a no-confidence motion against the BJP government in Lok Sabha. It had already withdrawn its ministers from the government.Also Read - TDP Workers Protest Against Fuel Price Hike By Standing Inside Ring Of Fire In Andhra Pradesh | Watch

TDP’s no-confidence motion in the House comes after the YSR Congress– TDP’s biggest regional rival– submitted a notice for a no-confidence motion against the Modi government on Thursday. Also Read - Andhra Pradesh: TDP Leader And Former CM Chandrababu Naidu Detained

TDP chief and Andhra Chief Minister, N Chandrababu Naidu had earlier announced support for the no-confidence motion moved by the YSR Congress. YSR Congress chief Jagan Mohan Reddy reportedly sought support from opposition parties, as without the support of at least 50 MPs the motion will not be admitted by the Speaker. YSR Congress has 9 MPs, while the TDP has 16 MPs in the lower House. Also Read - SEC Annuls TDP Manifesto Released Before Andhra Pradesh Panchayat Polls Following YSRC's Complaint

Naidu had recently addressed a press-conference announcing that he was pulling out his two ministers from the Union government after Finance Minister Arun Jaitley refused to accord special status to Andhra Pradesh. Naidu, however, said that the alliance with the NDA at the Centre would continue.

The Central government had refused to give special status to Andhra Pradesh saying the Constitution didn’t permit that after the implementation of the 14th finance commission report. He had promised that the government was ready to give financial benefits entailed in special status to the state.

TDP is the second large constituent of the NDA which has parted ways with the Bharatiya Janata Party. Earlier, Shiv Sena had passed a resolution that it would not contest the upcoming 2019 General Elections in alliance with the BJP.