Hyderabad: The Congress will contest 95 seats in the upcoming Telangana Assembly Election 2018, announced Uttam Kumar Reddy, Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) president on Thursday. Under the seat sharing agreement, the party has allotted 14 seats to the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and 10 to Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) and the Communist Party of India. Also Read - Sharad Pawar to Chair Opposition's Key Meet on Tuesday in Delhi After Chat With Prashant Kishor

The Telangana Assembly Election 2018 are scheduled for December 7 and the Congress will release the list of candidates for the same on November 8 or 9. Also Read - 'Will Restore Article 370 in J&K if Voted to Power', Congress' Digvijaya to Pakistani Journalist in Alleged Clubhouse Chat

The Congress has reportedly finalised the names of leaders like Uttar Kumar Reddy, Revanth Reddy, Ponnam Prabhakar, Sabita Indrareddy, DK Aruna and Jana Reddy, among others. Also Read - 'Unless I Can be Teleported': Abhijit Mukherjee, Late President Pranab Mukherjee's Son, on Joining TMC

Speculations are rife that setting aside TJS’ demand of 15 seats, the Congress offered it four seats initially. However, the deal was finalised at 9 seats. On the other hand, the party is likely to offer the CPI only two seats.

Meanwhile, security has been beefed up in Maoist-affected areas of the state. ADGP, Law and Order, Jitender, said, “In Maoist affected areas we have sensitised our officers,Maoists could attempt attacks or target common citizens, as they have lost ground and are desperate. Guidelines for everyone have been issued and security forces will work together.”

The voting for Telangana Assembly Election 2018 will be held on December 7. The counting of votes is scheduled to happen on December 11. The polls were originally scheduled to be held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections next year, but the Assembly was dissolved on September 6 as per a recommendation of the K Chandrasekhara Rao-led cabinet.

The party-wise strength in the 120-member Telangana Legislative Assembly before its dissolution was TRS-82, Congress-17, AIMIM-7, BJP-5, TDP-3, Vacant-2, the CPI, CPI(M), Independent and nominated member (one each).