Live Updates

  • 7:19 PM IST

    Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Exit Polls: As predicted by Republic-Jan Ki Baat exit poll, TRS will retain power, by standing victorious on 58 seats. The Congress+TDP alliance, on the other hand, will bag 45 seats and the BJP will win six seats.

  • 6:46 PM IST

    Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Exit Polls: In the state, the majority mark is 60. The 119 Assembly seats went to polls on December 7. The TRS, in 2016, had won 63 seats whereas, the Congress gained 21 seats, BJP 5, Others 15.

  • 6:43 PM IST

    Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Exit Polls: As predicted by India Today-Axis exit poll, 79-91 seats are likely to be won by the TRS, 21-33 for Congress+TDP, 4-7 for Owaisi’s AIMIM, and 1-3 seats for the BJP.

  • 6:34 PM IST

    Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Exit Polls: According to CNX Exit Poll, the TRS will bag 66 seats while the Congress+alliance will get 37 seats. The BJP will bag seven seats while others will get 9.

Telangana Assembly Election 2018The Zee News maha exit poll for Telangana, which witnessed voting earlier in the day, came out on December 7 after 5.30 PM. The state which is witnessing a triangular contest between the Congress-led alliance, consisting of the TDP, CPI and TJS, the ruling TRS, and the BJP in Telangana, witnessed a voter turnout of 56.17 per cent till 3 PM.

In Telangana, as many as 1,821 candidates, including a transgender, were in the fray for the election. Polling for 119-member House started at 7 am and ended at 5 pm, while in 13 constituencies which were classified as Left Wing Extremist-affected, polling ended one hour before (4 pm).

For Telangana polls, the Congress has stitched together “Prajakutami” (People’s Front) along with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS) and the CPI to take on the ruling TRS, led by caretaker Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR) and the BJP.

Going it alone in the polls, the TRS announced its candidates for 107 segments, including 105 at one go within minutes of the assembly dissolution. The Congress, which is fielding its candidates on 94 seats in the 120-member Telangana Legislative Assembly, has said it would leave 24 seats for its alliance partners – 13 for the TDP, eight for the TJS and three seats for the CPI.

The 119-member Assembly was dissolved on September 6 on the recommendation of the K Chandrasekhar Rao-led TRS government, more than eight months ahead of the expiry of its term, paving the way for early elections.

The results for Telanagana Assembly Election 2018 will be announced on December 11, along with four other states – Mizoram, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

In the 2014 assembly election, the TRS bagged 63 seats with a vote-share of 34 per cent and the Congress 21 seats with 25 per cent vote-share. The TDP had fought the poll in alliance with the BJP then.

The TDP won 15 seats with 14.5 per cent vote-share and the BJP five with seven per cent vote-share.