Hyderabad: Telangana went to vote on Friday in the first Assembly election since the state was carved out of Andhra Pradesh in 2014. According to most exit polls, the TRS, headed by caretaker CM of the state, KC Rao, would be coming back to power. Zee News Maha Exit poll has predicted a 70 seat-win for the TRS.

According to India Today- Axis, TRS would get anywhere between 79 and 91 seats while the Congress-TDP alliance would get 21-33 seats. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM would get 4-7 seats and the BJP would log 1-3 seats. The majority mark in the 119-seat Assembly is 60.

As per Republic-Jan Ki Baat exit poll, TRS would bag 58 seats while the Congress+TDP alliance would bag 45 seats and the BJP will win six seats.

According to Times Now-CNX Exit Poll, the TRS will win Telangana with 66 seats while the Congress+TDP alliance will get 37 seats. The BJP will bag seven seats while others will get 9.

Voting was largely peaceful even though technical glitches stalled it in a few places.

Caretaker Chief Minister KR Rao and his TRS are pitted against the main Opposition, the Congress, which has formed a ‘mahakootami’ (grand alliance) with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) headed by Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, the Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS) founded by retired Osmania University Political Science Professor Prof Kodandaram and the Communist Party of India.

A total of 1,821 candidates including 135 women are in the fray for the 119-member Telangana Assembly.

In the 2014 assembly election, the TRS bagged 63 seats with a vote-share of 34 per cent and the Congress 21 seats with 25 per cent vote-share. The TDP had fought the poll in alliance with the BJP then.

The TDP won 15 seats with 14.5 per cent vote-share and the BJP five with seven per cent vote-share.

The results of the Telangana Polls will be declared on December 11 along with Mizoram, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana and Chhattisgarh. The assembly elections in these five states are being seen as a semi-final before the grand showdown of the 2019 Lok Sabha election.