Live Updates

  • 5:22 PM IST

    Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Live News Updates: We’ve demanded immediate action against Congress President Rahul Gandhi for influencing voters through paid news under the garb of his interview in a Hyderabad newspaper on 6 December, said BJP’s Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

  • 4:22 PM IST

  • 2:30 PM IST

  • 2:26 PM IST

  • 2:15 PM IST

    Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Live News Updates: Caretaker CM of Telangana, KCR cast his vote at a polling station in Siddipet earlier today.

  • 1:53 PM IST

    Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Live News Updates: Reportedly, badminton star Jwala Gutta, and Telangana’s Road Safety and Railways Director General of Police T. Krishna Prasad’s name is missing from the voter list.

  • 12:40 PM IST

  • 12:21 PM IST

    Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Live News Updates: TRS supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao’s son KT Rama Rao cast his vote in Hyderabad.

  • 12:10 PM IST

  • 11:58 AM IST

    Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Live News Updates: 23.16 per cent voter turnout recorded till 11 AM.

New Delhi: Voting for the Telangana Assembly Election 2018 began at 7 AM in the state at several polling stations amid tight security. Telangana will witness a close fight between the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the alliance of the Congress, Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Communist Party of India (Marxist) and the Telangana Jana Samithi.

This is the first time that Telangana will go to polls since its formation in 2014. It will be interesting to see if KCR and TRS will return to power in the upcoming polls. (Also Read: Telangana Assembly Polls: Check Your Name in Voter List Online)

A total of 1,821 candidates including 135 women are in the fray for the 119-member Telangana Assembly. Over 1.6 lakh poll personnel have been deployed in the state for the smooth and peaceful conduct of the poll.

The results of the Telangana Polls will be declared on December 11 along with Mizoram, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana and Chhattisgarh. The assembly elections in these five states are being seen as a semi-final before the grand showdown of the 2019 Lok Sabha election.

The TRS government dissolved the Assembly about eight months ahead of the schedule in the hope of taking the Opposition parties by surprise but the Congress threw a surprise by coming up with an alliance in a bid to oust the ruling party.

For the 119-member Telangana assembly where the Congress has tied up with rivals TDP, CPI and Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS), a new party floated by M. Kodandaram, who was once Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao’s friend in the Telangana movement.

Telangana has 51,796 polling stations, an increase of 14.25 per cent over the previous election in 2013.

While the TRS, TDP is in the fray of today’s election, BJP and Congress are the main contenders in Rajasthan assembly elections. Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are also contesting the Rajasthan polls.