Hyderabad: The Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) on Tuesday released its first list of seven candidates for the upcoming legislative assembly elections in Telangana. The list named  Owaisi’s younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi. He will contest from Chandrayangutta Assembly constituency.Also Read - 'Won't Let Yogi Return As CM in 2022', Vows Owaisi; UP Chief Minister Says Challenge Accepted

Mumtaz Khan will contest from Charminar, while Syed Ahmed Pasha Quadri will represent AIMIM from the Yakutpura constituency. Also Read - UP Elections 2022: AIMIM to Contest on 100 Seats, Alliance Only With OP Rajbhar's Party, Says Owaisi

The remaining candidates are:  Mohd Moazam Khan (Bahadurpura), Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala (Malakpet), Jaffer Hussain Meraj (Nampally) and Kausar Mohiuddin (Karwan) – have retained their past constituencies. Also Read - BSP to Fight UP, Uttarakhand Assembly Polls Alone, Says Mayawati as Reports of Tie-up With AIMIM Emerge

The list comes days after  Telangana Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Rajat Kumar briefed senior officials of Election Commission of India (ECI) about the preparatory poll work in Telangana.

Earlier on September 6, Telangana Governor ESL Narasimhan had dissolved the state assembly following a recommendation from the K Chandrashekhar Rao-led cabinet. The Governor, however, asked Rao to continue as caretaker Chief Minister until the new government was formed.