Hyderabad: The ruling TRS was leading in seven constituencies and Congress and BJP in one each, according to early trends in the counting of votes in the Telangana assembly elections Tuesday. Also Read - BJP Tweets Old Video of Mamata Banerjee Reciting Islamic Prayer, Slams Bengal CM For Her Netaji Event Reaction

Trends were available for nine constituencies at 9 AM. Also Read - Centre Committed to Fulfil Clauses of Bodo Accord; Only BJP Can Make Assam Free From Bullets, Agitation And Floods: Amit Shah

Postal ballots were taken up for counting initially. Also Read - Congress Got Subhas Chandra Bose Killed, Gandhi-Nehru Couldn't Stand in Front of His Popularity: Sakshi Maharaj

Senior TRS leader T Harish Rao, a minister in the Caretaker government, was leading in Siddipet by 13,040 votes over his nearest TJS rival Bhavani Reddy after the completion of the third round, according to official figures.

In Zaheerabad, TRS nominee Manik Rao was leading by 738 votes after the first round.

Elections were held on December 7 to the 119-member Assembly and the counting was taken up this morning.

The ruling TRS and BJP are going it alone, while the Congress has forged an alliance with Telugu Desam Party (TDP), CPI and Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS).