New Delhi, Jan 25: Three security personnel, one from the BSF and two from the CRPF, have been posthumously awarded the President’s Police Medal for Gallantry, the government announced on Monday.

All the three personnel – constable Subhendu Roy from the Border Security Force (BSF) and constables Satish Kumar and Suraj Sarjerao Mohite from the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) – laid down their lives in the line of duty and are being honoured posthumously. (ALSO READ: 12 suspected ISIS terrorists sent to police custody till February 5)

In all, 841 persons have been awarded police medals on the occasion of Republic Day this year. Of them, 121 got the Police Medal for Gallantry, 89 got President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service and 628 persons have been honoured with the Police Medal for Meritorious Service.

((Image Credit: