Kolkata: Three workers of the All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) were injured on Tuesday after a crude bomb was hurled at them during the third phase of Lok Sabha elections. The incident took place in Domkal municipality in Murshidabad, said news agency ANI. Members of the TMC blamed Congress-backed goons for the incident. Also Read - West Bengal College Reopening News: Mamata Govt Planning to Start UG, PG Classes For New Academic Session From This Date | Check Here

Meanwhile, the injured were identified as Tujam Ansari (50), Masadul Islam (35), Malik Mondal (27). They have been admitted to the Murshidabad Medical College for treatment. Following the incident, a large number of state police and central force personnel rushed to the spot. Also Read - BJP Team Reshuffle: 'Served For 40 Years & Got Shunted Out': Bengal Leader Rahul Sinha Hints at Rebellion

In Malda North seat, faulty EVMs were reported in a few polling stations stalling voting for sometime. Also Read - No Cultural Programmes at Durga Puja This Year, Says Mamata Banerjee | Read Full SOP Here

Earlier in the day, long queues of men and women of various age groups could be seen outside the polling booths in most places in Balurghat, North and South Malda, Jangipur and Murshidabad. The overall polling percentage at 9 AM was 16.94, with Balurghat recording 17.28, Malda North 16.11, Malda south 16.22, Jangipur 17.54 and Murshidabad 17.54, an Election Commission official said.

A total of 80,23,846 voters are eligible to register their choice in 8,528 polling stations that will decide the fate of 61 candidates, six of whom were women. Altogether 324 companies of central force personnel have been deployed in the state, covering over 92 per cent of the polling stations across the five constituencies. The CAPF deployment has been highest in Murshidabad district (96 per cent) followed by Malda (91.4 per cent).

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the Congress had bagged Malda North, Malda South and Jangipur, while Balurghat went to the Trinamool and Murshidabad had a CPI-M winner. The subsequent phases of polls will be held on April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The votes will be counted on May 23.

(With agency inputs)