New Delhi, Apr 26: Counting of votes for the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) election 2017 is underway. Polling for 270 wards including Keshopur, Tilak Nagar and Mahavir Nagar wards was held on April 23. Besides the coverage on the MCD election results 2017, we will be updating live on the results of Keshopur (ward no 012-S), Tilak Nagar (ward no 013-S) and Mahavir Nagar (ward no 014-S) wards of the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC).

In Keshopur ward, the BJP has fielded Shweta Saini, AAP Narendra Pal Kaur and Congress Shilpa Kapoor. In Tilak Nagar ward, the AAP fielded Gurmukh Singh (Bittoo) and Congress Ashok Kumar (Ashok Sharma). The BJP didn’t field any candidate from Tilak Nagar ward. The BJP has fielded Reeta Oberoi in Mahavir Nagar, Congress Dr Anita Babbar and AAP Manisha Mannu. Janata Dal United’s Simranjeet Kaur is also in the fray.

Keshopur, Tilak Nagar and Mahavir Nagar ward election results 2017:

Ward NameAAP candidateBJP candidateCongress candidateResult
KeshopurNarendra Pal Kaur Shweta SainiShilpa Kapoor  BJP
Tilak NagarGurmukh Singh (Bittoo)Ashok Kumar (Ashok Sharma) AAP
Mahavir NagarManisha MannuReeta OberoiDr Anita BabbarBJP

Stakes are high for Bharatiya Janata Party as it had won the 2012 MCD elections from Tilak Nagar and Mahavir Nagar wards. The performance of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) will be keenly watched too as the party had won the 2015 Assembly election from the Tilak Nagar Assembly constituency. Congress will try to revive itself after back-to-back poll debacles. The BJP candidate Yashpal Arya and Ritu Vohra had won 2012 MCD elections from Mahavir Nagar and Tilak Nagar wards respectively. The Keshopur ward is newly-formed.

Keshopur election results 2017:

Narendra Pal KaurAAP Lost
Shweta SainiBJP Won
Shilpa KapoorCongressLost

Tilak Nagar election results 2017:

Gurmukh-Singh (Bittoo)AAP Won
Ashok Kumar (ashok Sharma)BJPLost
Suraj MalhotraCONGLost

Mahavir Nagar election results 2017:

Manisha MannuAAPLost
Reeta OberoiBJP Won
Dr Anita BabbarCongressLost

The major contest is between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has been ruling the MCD for the last 10 years, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which governs Delhi, and Congress. Stay connected with us to get updates on the results.