Lucknow, Feb 19: Voting for the third phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017 for 69 assembly constituencies spread across 12 districts began at 7 AM on Sunday. Considered as one of the most important election phases in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2017, many high profile candidates which include Rita Bahuguna, Aparna Yadav, Shivpal Yadav and Brajesh Pathak are contesting in the third phase. Billed as the semi-final before the 2019 General elections, a total of total of 2,41,67,407 voters will vote for the 826 candidates contesting the elections.

Many high profile politicians who belong to these 12 districts cast their votes in the third phase of Uttar Pradesh elections.



Former Chief Minister and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati cast her vote from poll booth number 251 in Lucknow.  BSP is contesting on all the 69 seats included in the third phase.

Mulayam Singh Yadav


Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav cast his vote from Saifai. Mulayam Singh’s brother and former state party president Shivpal Yadav is contesting the Assembly Elections from Jaswantnagar constituency in Lucknow.

Akhilesh Yadav


Samajwadi Party president and Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Akhilesh Yadav cast his vote from Saifai. In the 2012 elections, Samajwadi Party had won 55 out of the 69 constituencies. Akhilesh Yadav is confident of gaining similar victory this year.

Rajnath Singh


Home Minister Rajnath Singh cast his vote from Lucknow. Addressing the media after casting his vote, Rajnath Singh stated that BJP will emerge as the single largest party in the state winning an absolute majority.

Dimple Yadav


Wife of Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, Aparna Yadav cast her vote from Saifai. Dimple Yadav is the star campaigner of Samajwadi Party in the assembly elections and she also played a key role in forming a pre-poll alliance with Congress.

Uma Bharati


Senior BJP leader and Union Minister Uma Bharti cast her vote at booth number 149 in Lucknow. Bharti has been actively campaigning for BJP in the state and has attacked the Congress-SP alliance in several of her rallies.

Rita Bahuguna


Former Congress MLA and the BJP candidate from Lucknow, Rita Bahuguna cast her vote in Lucknow. Rita Bahuguna Joshi will be contesting the Assembly Election against Samajwadi Party candidate Aparna Yadav. In the 2012 Assembly election, Rita Bahuguna Joshi won the assembly election from the Lucknow cantonment constituency on the Congress ticket.

Pankaj Singh


Son of Home Minister Rajnath Singh and BJP candidate from Noida constituency, Pankaj Singh cast his vote from Lucknow.

Sakshi Maharaj


Controversial BJP leader and Member of Parliament of Unnao constituency, Sakshi Maharaj cast his vote from Unnao.

Kalraj Mishra


Senior BJP leader and Union Minister Kalraj Mishra casts his vote from Ganna Sansthan booth in Lucknow.

T Venkatesh


Chief Electoral Officer of Uttar Pradesh T Venkatesh casts his vote from Lucknow.

For the fifth consecutive time, the most popular voter and former MP of Lucknow, will not be casting his vote in the Assembly elections. The VIP voter is none other than former Prime Minister and Bharat Ratna Atal Bihari Vajpayee. The former Prime Minister has represented the city five times in Lok Sabha from 1991 to 1999.

Results of the seven phase Uttar Pradesh elections will be declared on March 11.