Agartala, February 26: Re-polling is underway in six booths in as many Assembly constituencies of Tripura on Monday. The Election Commission ordered re-polling in Dhanpur, Sonamura, Teliamura, Kadamtala-Kurti, Ampinagar and Sabroom Assembly constituencies. Also Read - EC Plans Not to Extend Postal Ballot Facility to Voters Above 65 Years of Age in Bihar Elections, Other Polls

Dhanpur is the home turf of Chief Minister Manik Sarkar since 1998. The veteran CPI(M) leader has been elected from the constituency for four consecutive terms. Also Read - Tripura Lockdown News: Week-long Shutdown in Areas Bordering Bangladesh From Friday | Here's What's Allowed, What's Not

The EC declared election in these booth as ‘void’ after it noticed that the number of electorates didn’t tally with the number of votes polled in four polling stations, the Hindustan Times reported.

In another case, the poll panel claimed that presiding officers ‘unintentionally’ didn’t clear votes of another seven polling stations where votes were cast during mock-poll from the Control Unit.

Polling for 59 of the 60 Assembly seats was held in the north-eastern state on February 18. Polling was countermanded in the Charilam constituency due to the death of CPI(M) candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma ahead of the election.

The results of the election will declared on March 3.