New Delhi, March 3: Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar is leading from Dhanpur seat as couting for Tripura Assembly elections is underway. Initial trends show a close contest between the Left, which has been in power since 1993 in the northeastern state, and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Also Read - Bid to block Manik Sarkar's convoy in Tripura

Tripura Assembly Elections 2018 Results Live Updates Also Read - Yearender 2018: From Losing Grip Over Hindi Heartland to Vajpayee's Demise, How 2018 Turned Nightmarish For BJP

As per trends available 8:45 AM, the Left was ahead on 16 seats, while the BJP was leading on six seats. The Congress was ahead on just one seat. As far as exit polls are concerned, the BJP is expected to dethrone the Left from its citadel – Tripura. The Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) that has had an uninterrupted run since 1993 and CM Manik Sarkar, who has been Tripura CM since 1998, has a daunting task in his hands to prove the exit polls wrong Also Read - Assembly Elections 2018: BJP Steps up Prep, Amit Shah Reworks 'Ajey BJP' Campaign

A three-tier security cover has been put in place for counting in Tripura where polling was held on February 18.

There are 59 counting halls, set up in 20 locations across the state.

Prohibitory orders under 144 CrPc has been promulgated in and around all the locations as a precautionary measure.