New Delhi, March 3: Tripura Bharatiya Janata Party president Biplab Kumar Deb will take oath as the chief minister in the next few days. Deb announced that Jishnu Deb Burman will be the Deputy Chief Minister of Tripura. It was a stupendous show by the BJP in Tripura Assembly Elections as it won 35 seats in the 60-member Assembly.

Deb, the youngest BJP state president along with Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh leader Sunil Deodhar and senior leader Ram Madhav scripted the saffron party’s win in the North-eastern state. Deb, a former RSS volunteer was elected BJP state president in 2016. He replaced Sudhindra Dasgupta, the longest serving president of the party.

Deb, 48, was born in Udaipur subdivision of south Tripura. He completed his education in Delhi and worked as a professional gym instructor then. He joined the RSS and went to Nagpur. After Deodhar was made Tripura in-charge, he brought in Deb, a former resident of the state who was settled in the national capital.

Putting up a remarkable show, the BJP and its alliance partner, Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura, won 43 seats, dethroning the CPI-M-led Left Front rule in the north-eastern state.

Polling has been countermanded in one constituency of the 60-strong assembly following the death of a CPI-M candidate a week before the February 18 polls.

The Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) has been ruling the northeastern state uninterruptedly for the past 25 years.