Live Updates

  • 5:27 PM IST

    74% voter
    turnout till 4pm, it likely to go up as there are people in queues to vote even
    now: Election Commission

  • 5:20 PM IST

    VVPAT was used
    for the first time in all the polling booths in Tripura, says Election

  • 5:02 PM IST

    Tripura CEO
    Sriram Taranikanti says polling to continue in many booths. He adds that voter
    turnout until 3 pm stands at 67 percent

  • 4:59 PM IST
    Tripura Assembly Elections 2018: Tripura CEO Sriram Taranikanti says polling to be extended in certain booths.
  • 4:20 PM IST
    Tripura Assembly Elections 2018: 65 per cent voter turnout till 3:00 pm. The polling process is going on smoothly.
  • 2:13 PM IST

    Tripura Assembly Elections 2018: It is going on smoothly. We hope the momentum carries on. There were couple of issues in EVMs in the morning. Our team has resolved the issue. We will be able to complete polling before the stipulated time: Sriram Taranikanti, Chief Electoral Officer Tripura

  • 1:49 PM IST

    Tripura Assembly Elections 2018: 45.86% voter turnout recorded till 1.00pm

  • 1:17 PM IST

    Tripura Assembly Elections 2018: Chief Electoral Officer of Tripura Sriram Taranikanti said a team of 180 engineers is working to solve EVM snags. He said no incidents of violence have been reported.

  • 12:47 PM IST

    Tripura Assembly Elections 2018: Reports claimed that voting in various polling booths has been delayed due to technical issues in EVMs.

  • 12:43 PM IST
    Tripura Assembly Elections 2018: Congress candidate Birajit Sinha said,“There has been disturbance (in poll booths). So we called up the DM and he sent some officers to the voting centre. Now it is going on peacefully. The officers at times misbehaves with the senior voters but for them only now it is systematic and peaceful.”

New Delhi, Feb 18: Security has been tightened up near the Indo-Bangladesh border as polling began in 59 of 60 Assembly seats in Tripura on Sunday. Three hundred companies of central armed forces have been deployed across the state along with state armed personnel and the police. The BSF is also keeping  close vigil along the 856 km long Indo-Bangladesh border. Apart from that Director General of Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) R K Pachnanda has been appointed special observer to coordinate the security forces on election duty.

The state is witnessing a direct battle between the Communist Party (Marxist) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).  The CPM is looking to retain its power whereas the BJP is giving them a tough fight by catching on tribal votes. BJP’s slogan of ‘chalo paltai’ (let’s change) has become a tagline across the northeast.

In Tripura, Tribals make up 31 per cent of the population, which has a large number of Bengali speaking population. Twenty seats have been reserved for the scheduled tribes.

In last two months, the BJP had held a high-voltage campaign in the state with Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressing as many as four rallies in the state. BJP president Amit Shah, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Irani and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath were among other heavyweight leaders of the saffron party to take part in the campaign.

Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar who is running for his fifth term led the CPI(M)’s campaign addressing around 50 rallies in last two weeks. Other Left leaders like Brinda Karat and Sitaram Yechury lend support to the party’s campaign.

The BJP which has formed an alliance with tribal outfit Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) has fielded 51 candidates. IPFT will contest in the remaining nine seats. Meanwhile, the Congress is going alone on all 59 seats. The party has not fielded any candidate for Kakrobon constituency in Gomati district.

Notably, polling is being held for 59 of the 60 assembly seats today as election in Charilam was postponed after the death of CPM candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma. It will be held on March 12.

Counting of votes will take place on March 3.