Agartala, February 26: At six polling stations in Tripura re-polling was held on Monday and over 85 per cent of electors cast their votes. On February 18, the Election Commission (EC) declared the polling void at six centres, a senior EC official said.Also Read - 2 Party Offices Of CPM Set On Fire In Agartala, Several Vehicles Torched, Party Blames BJP

“Out of the 5,582 voters in six polling stations, over 85 per cent cast their votes today (Monday) in the re-polling at these polling stations,” Tripura Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sriram Taranikanti told IANS. Also Read - Breaking News Highlights: Delhi University Approves Implementation of NEP From 2022-23 Session

According to him, no untoward incident was reported from anywhere in the six polling station areas spread across six assembly constituencies. Also Read - 'In Talibani Style': Tripura BJP Leader Calls For Attack on TMC | WATCH

One such polling station falls in Dhanpur segment (in western Tripura’s Sepahijala district), from where Chief Minister and Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) politburo member Manik Sarkar is contesting.

The CEO said the Commission has also issued order that during the counting of votes on March 3, the slips of VVPATs (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trails) of seven polling stations in seven Assembly constituencies also be counted, since their Presiding Officers did not get clearance from EVM (Electronic Voting Machines) control units for the votes cast during the mandatory mock poll before the start of actual polling on February 18.

The EC has also told the Tripura CEO that in four other polling stations in four Assembly seats, the total number of electorate did not match with the total number of votes recorded.

“The Election Commission has also asked the Returning Officers of these four Assembly constituencies not to declare results without prior permission, if the winning margin is one vote,” Taranikanti added.

CPI-M Tripura State Secretary Bijan Dhar earlier criticised the Election Department for what he called “criminal negligence” regarding polling on February 18 in 59 of the 60 Assembly seats.