New Delhi, Jan 18: The Election Commission on Thursday announced dates for Assembly elections in three north-eastern states. Assembly elections for 60 seats each in Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura will be held in February in two phases. While voting in Tripura will be held on February 18, in Meghalaya and Nagaland it will be on February 27. Counting of votes will be done on March 3. Also Read - Tripura Assembly Elections 2018: Voting Underway in Charilam Constituency, CPIM Withdraws Candidate

Announcing the dates for Assembly elections in the three states, Chief Election Commissioner AK Joti said that Model Code of Conduct has come into effect in these states immediately. He added that EVM and VVPAT will be used on all polling booths in these states. Also Read - Breaking News Live Today: There Should be More woman in The Armed Forces, Says Nirmala Sitharaman

“Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura all have 60 seats each. EVM and VVPAT will be used in all three states, first level checks have been completed,” he said. Apart from this,  CCTV cameras will be installed at all polling booths across the three states. Also Read - Biplab Deb to be Sworn in as Tripura CM Today; PM Narendra Modi, Amit Shah to Attend Ceremony

“The Commission has directed that Webcasting, CCTV coverage, videography and digital cameras will also be deployed inside critical polling booths and polling booths in vulnerable areas to closely monitor the proceedings on the poll day without violating secrecy of voting process,” CEC AK Joti added.

The CEC said that all- women managed polling stations would be set up in one polling station for each Assembly constituency where the entire polling staff, including the police and security personnel, will be women.

All You Need to Know:


Date of Notification: January 31

Last Date of Filing Nomination: February 7

Scrutiny of Nominations: February 8

Withdrawal of Nomination: February 12

Polling Date: February 27

Counting: March 3


Date of Notification: January 31

Last Date of Filing Nomination: February 7

Scrutiny of Nominations: February 8

Withdrawal of Nomination: February 12

Voting: February 27

Counting: March 3


Date of notification: January 24

Last date of filing nomination: January 31

Scrutiny of nominations: February 3

Voting: February 18

Counting: March 3

The term of Tripura Assembly ends on March 6 whereas, that of Meghalaya and Nagaland end on March 13 and 14, respectively. Currently, Tripura is ruled by the Left Front, Naga People’s Front-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland in Nagaland and Congress in Meghalaya.