New Delhi, Jan 18: The Election Commission of India (ECI) is likely to announce the poll dates for the Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland Assembly Elections 2018 on Thursday. Also Read - Voter ID Can be Availed in a Coloured Format Now | Here's How

Vidhan Sabha election or assembly elections 2018 in Tripura, Meghalaya, and Nagaland is likely to be conducted in a single phase, say reports. (Here is the complete schedule of Assembly Elections in Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland) Also Read - Election Commission to Address Presser at 1:30 PM Amid Bihar Vote Counting | Here's What to Expect

Earlier, it was reported that a four-member of the Election Commission had visited the three election-bound states to make a final assessment. Meeting the leaders of various political parties, the officials asked them to make preparations for the upcoming assembly elections in their respective states. Also Read - Kamal Nath 'No' More Star Campaigner: EC Says Congress Leader Repeatedly Violated Code of Conduct

The term of Tripura Assembly ends on March 6 whereas, that of Meghalaya and Nagaland end on March 13 and 14, respectively. Currently, Tripura is ruled by the Left Front, Naga People’s Front-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland in Nagaland and Congress in Meghalaya.

Meanwhile, dates of Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 are also expected to be announced in the second week of March. Sources close to the Election Commission had earlier claimed that the Model Code of Conduct will come into force once the schedule is released.

In a major announcement, the EC had earlier asserted that “three dozen” apps will be launched ahead of the assembly polls to bring in ease to all the stakeholders. “We have three dozen apps that will be deployed in the pre-poll time and this poll preparation will be IT friendly and modern to prevent any difficulty to the voters,” Senior Deputy Election Commissioner Umesh Sinha had said.