Tripura Municipal Election Results 2021: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party has yet again retained power in the crucial Tripura civic body polls by winning 217 of total 222 seats, while the Trinamool Congress emerged as a strong political force in the polls for which polling was held on November 25. The counting of votes for over 200 seats in the Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and other civic bodies in Tripura began at 8 AM in 13 counting centers all over the state. Despite the allegations of malpractices, nearly 81.54% of over 4.93 lakh voters had exercised their franchise in elections to Tripura’s 14 civic bodies on Thursday. The electoral battle had witnessed the ruling BJP locked in battle with the Trinamool Congress which is foraying into the Northeast and elsewhere to establish itself as a national party, and with the CPI(M) which the saffron party had dethroned from power in this state some years ago.Also Read - Tripura Civic Polls: 'Battle Royale' For Agartala Municipal Corporation, 13 Other Local Bodies Begins

As it Happened

19:39 PM: The BJP candidates won in all the 51 seats in the AMC and 165 seats in the seven Municipal Councils and six Nagar Panchayats.

According to State Election Commission officials, the main opposition party CPI-M won three seats in three municipal bodies in Kailashahar, Ambassa and Panisagar while the Trinamool Congress won one seat in Ambassa Municipal council.

The Trinamool Congress secured over 20 per cent votes and second position in 27 of the 51 seats in the politically important AMC which has put up a big challenge to both the ruling BJP and the key opposition CPI-M led Left parties.

However, the Left parties and the TMC did not put up candidates in all the 334 seats in the civic elections to the AMC and 19 other urban local bodies – Municipal Councils and Nagar Panchayats — alleging unprecedented political violence, attacks and intimidations.

17:30 PM: “A huge congratulations to Hon’ble Tripura CM Shri @BjpBiplab & @BJP4Tripura for the party’s clean sweep of the civic body polls, winning 217 out of the total 222 seats. It’s another testimony to popular support for the visionary leadership of Adarniya PM Shri @narendramodi ji”, tweeted Assam CM.

14:15 PM: BJP has registered victory in the Khowai Municipal council, Kumarghat Municipal Council, Sabroom Nagar Panchayat, and Amarpur Nagar Panchayat.

14:00 PM: TMC has killed democracy in their State. They came to Tripura to create chaos and confusion among the people. So there is no question of them winning any seat in the State: Tripura Assembly Speaker Ratan Chakraborty on civic election results

13:46 PM: Taking a dig at the TMC, BJP national vice-president Dilip Ghosh asserted that the results of Tripura civic polls have exposed the ‘hollowness’ of Trinamool’s claims of making inroads into the northeastern state. He also described TMC workers campaigning in Tripura as ‘hired people’.  “The TMC will not be able to open its account in Tripura ” unless the BJP decides against fielding candidate from any seat”, he claimed.

13:16 PM: BJP has won from 29 wards out of 51 wards bagging majority in Agartala Municipal Corporation, as per State Election Commission.

12:56 PM:  “Tripura is just the beginning”, said Amit Malviya.

12:55 PM: Suvendu Adhikari congratulates Tripura CM Biplab Deb for registering landslide victory.

12:31 PM: BJP is currently leading in 32 wards in Agartala Municipal Corporation.

12:00 PM: BJP wins 19 wards in Agartala Municipal Corporation.

11:57 AM: As per the latest trends, the saffron party BJP has registered victory on almost all the seats where counting has completed.

11:19 AM: BJP’s Tushar Kanti Bhattacharjee & Abhishek Dutta win from Ward number 35 and Ward number 18 of Agartala Municipal Corporation, respectively

09:49 AM: Of the total 51 seats Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC), BJP leading on three sSeats.

09:22 AM: In a bid to avoid any untoward incident, heavy security forces have been deployed in areas adjoining the counting centre. For the maintenance of law and order, Tripura State Rifles and the central armed police force have been deployed.

09:00 AM: BJP takes early lead in Ambassa, Jirania, Teliamura, and Sabroom.

08:45 AM: The ruling Bhartiya Janata Party, which has fielded candidates in all seats, has already won 112 out of the total 334 seats uncontested in the Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and 19 urban bodies.

08:30 AM: Polling was held in 222 seats across six nagar panchayats, seven municipal councils and Agartala Municipal Corporation in Tripura.

08:00 AM: The run-up to the elections saw TMC youth leader Saayoni Ghosh, arrested on charges of criminal intimidation attempt to murder, and promotion of disharmony on Sunday after she raised the party’s khela hobe (game will be played) slogan outside a meeting being addressed by the state chief minister Biplab Deb.