New Delhi, Mar 3: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is confident of winning majority in Left’s stronghold Tripura and strengthen its footprint in other two northeastern states – Nagaland and Meghalaya – where results for Assembly elections will be announced on Saturday. Counting of votes in all the three states will begin amid tight security at 8 AM and first trends are expected to pour in an hour or so. Catch live updates on Tripura Assembly Elections 2018 Results hereAlso Read - Withdraw 'Adverse Remarks' By Supreme Court Against Nupur Sharma: Petition Filed Before CJI Ramana

Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland Assembly Election 2018 Results Live Updates Also Read - Major Setback For Owaisi As 4 AIMIM MLAs In Bihar Join RJD

As far as exit polls are concerned, the BJP is expected to dethrone the Left from its citadel – Tripura. The Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) that has had an uninterrupted run since 1993 and CM Manik Sarkar, who has been Tripura CM since 1998, has a daunting task in his hands to prove the exit polls wrong. Watch live streaming of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland Assembly election results here. Also Read - Prophet Remarks Row: Kolkata Police Summon Nupur Sharma; Asked To Appear On June 20

Hours before the counting of votes in the three states, Union Minister Kiren Rijiju excuded confidence of BJP coming out with flying colours. “We will wrest Tripura from the Left Front. Our internal assessment is that we will win at least 36 to 42 seats,” Rijiju told a television channel in an interview. Voting on 59 seats of 60-seat Tripura Assembly was held on February 18. According to the Election Commission, voting percentage was recorded at 89.8 per cent in Tripura. The state had recorded 93.61 percent voting in the 2013 Assembly election.

All You Need To Know:

* In Meghalaya, which saw around 84 per cent voting, the contest involves the ruling Congress, BJP, National People’s Party (NPP) and the newly floated People’s Democratic Front. Polling in Williamnagar constituency of the state was countermanded following the death of Nationalist Congress Party candidate in an IED blast.

*For the first time, Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma is contesting from two seats.

*The CVoter exit poll has predicted the ruling Congress suffering some setback with its tally coming down to 13-19 from 29 while the BJP is set to win 4-8 seats and around 16.5 per cent of vote share. It said the local National People’s Party (NPP) may get 17-23 seats.

*In 2013, the BJP had badly lost all 13 seats it contested with a vote share of 6.2 per cent. The NPP had won only two seats out of 32 it contested.

*In Nagaland, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) chief and three-time CM Neiphiu Rio was declared elected unopposed. The BJP is contesting the polls in alliance with the newly-floated Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and the two are contesting 20 and 40 seats respectively.

*The CVoter exit poll has predicted a victory for the BJP-NDPP combine with 25-31 seats. It has also predicted that the ruling Naga People’s Front (NPF) will bag 19-25 seats.

(With inputs from agencies)