Hyderabad, Feb 5: The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) was heading for a huge win in Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) elections as early results and trends indicated on Friday.  The party had won 20 seats and was leading in 34 other divisions in 150-member municipal body.  The Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) bagged eight divisions and was leading in nine others.
(ALSO READ: GHMC election results 2016 to be declared today; stakes high for TRS, AIMIM; counting likely to be delayed).Also Read - GHMC Elections 2020: 35% Total Turnout Recorded; Counting of Votes on Dec 4

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was leading in three divisions and its alliance partner Telugu Desam Party (TDP) was ahead in two divisions.  The Congress, which is the main opposition party in Telangana, won one seat but was not leading in any other division.  The counting of votes polled in Tuesday’s elections began at 3 p.m. but the results and trends were announced after 5 p.m. when repolling in one division concluded. Also Read - Elaborate Arrangements in Place For Polls to Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation Today

Counting of votes polled in 149 divisions began at 24 places in twin cities of Hyderabad and Secunderabad.  Elections held in all 150 divisions on Tuesday had recorded 45.27 percent turnout. According to GHMC, 33,60,543 voters out of the total electorate of 74,23,980 cast their votes.  The re-poll in Puranapull division in the old city was ordered following complaints of rigging and incidents of violence.  This was the first GHMC election after the formation of separate Telangana state.  The TRS had no representation in the previous body, where the Congress shared power with MIM after their victory in 2009 elections. Also Read - Coronavirus in Telangana: Hyderabad Mayor Tests Positive, Goes Into Self-Isolation