New Delhi: After announcing the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh, the Congress will take a final call on the new chief minister of Chhattisgarh on Friday. Congress President Rahul Gandhi has called TS Singh Deo, Bhupesh Baghel and Charan Das Mahant to Delhi today. Also Read - CBSE Board Exam 2021: Demand to Cancel Board Exams Grows Louder as Politicians, Actors Extend Support to Students. Check Latest Updates

All the three leaders who are supposedly the top contenders for the post of CM in Chhattisgarh will meet the Congress President after which a formal announcement on the new chief minister will be made. Also Read - Every Indian Deserves Chance to Safe Life: Rahul Gandhi on COVID-19 Vaccine Age Limit

Reportedly, a scuffle took place outside the residence of state party chief Bhupesh Baghel who is one of the contenders apart from the leader of opposition in the outgoing assembly. Also Read - No Dream is Too Big: Rahul Gandhi Gives Airplane Tour to Kerala Boy Who Wants to Become a Pilot | Watch Video

The Congress registered a major victory in the Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018, thus bringing an end to the 15-year rule of the Raman Singh-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government. It won 68 seats in the 90-member Assembly, while the BJP got only 15 seats.

Former chief minister Ajit Jogi-led Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) won five seats and his ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) bagged two seats.

The Congress Legislature Party meeting was held on December 12 where All India Congress Committee’s (AICC) observer Mallikarjun Kharge, AICC in-charge for the state PL Punia and other senior leaders will be present.

In the recently concluded Assembly Elections 2018, Congress emerged victorious on 114 seats, two short of the magic figure but the party got the support by Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP) in Madhya Pradesh. While in Rajasthan, the party which won 99 seats has received the support of Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) to reach the majority mark of 100. The grand old party sailed through comfortably in Chhattisgarh where it won a total of 68 seats.