New Delhi, Dec 20: Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and MP Dr Subramanian Swamy on Wednesday predicted that TTV Dinakaran might win the prestigious RK Nagar byelection, defeating AIADMK’s E Madhusudhanan and DMK’s N Marudhu Ganesh. Speaking to News18, Subramanian Swamy said the ruling AIADMK, led by Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palaniswami and his deputy O Panneerselvam, is not in the race.Also Read - BJP Would Remain at Centre of Indian Politics For Years to Come: Prashant Kishor's Latest Comments

“I believe the contest is now between TTV Dinakaran and the DMK. The ruling EPS-OPS faction of the AIADMK may not even be in the race,” Subramanian Swamy was quoted as saying. Calling E Palaniswami and O Panneerselvam spineless wonders, Dr Swamy said the duo can’t lead the AIADMK. “Both of them are incompetent. They don’t have the backing of the cadre. I believe most are still with the TTV, who is now emerging as the main challenger to DMK,” he said. Also Read - He Can Get Me Shot, Says Bihar CM Nitish Kumar on Lalu Prasad Yadav's 'Visarjan' Claim

The former union minister described DMK as a ‘Hitler party’ which has to be decimated to save Tamil people from their corrupt, criminal activities. TTV Dinakaran can only save Tamilians, the BJP MP said. Polling for RK Nagar bypoll, necessitated after Jayalalithaa’s death, will be held tomorrow. Counting of votes will be held on December 24. The byelection was earlier scheduled for April 12 but was cancelled following allegations that sums of money were distributed in a vote-for-cash scam. Also Read - Himachal Pradesh Schools To Remain Close Between These Dates. Details Here

In 2015, AIADMK’s sitting MLA resigned to make way for former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu J Jayalalithaa to contest from the seat after she was acquitted in a disproportionate assets case. She won the bypoll and in 2016, she contested from the same constituency for the Assembly elections. However, the seat fell vacant after her death in December 2016.